SWOP Report 2021 - Realize

هل يمكننا تحقيق الاستقلالية للجميع؟

Photo Photo Photo Icon

يمكننا، بل ويجب علينا، تحقيق الاستقلالية الجسدية للجميع. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في توضيح المفهوم نفسه وتأكيده. فهناك كثير من النساء والفتيات لا يُدركن أن لهنّ الحق في اتخاذ قرارات بشأن أجسادهن ومستقبلهن.

تعلمت أنني في الواقع أستطيع السيطرة على جسدي، جسدي ملك لي وحدي.

التعليم عامل أساسي

التعليم عامل أساسي, فالنساء اللاتي حصلن على مستوى تعليمٍ أعلى أقرب من غيرهن إلى اتخاذ قرارات حرة بخصوص وسائل تنظيم الأسرة والرعاية الصحية، وإلى امتلاك القدرة على رفض ممارسة العلاقة الحميمة . إن التربية الجنسية الشاملة - أي المعلومات الدقيقة والملائمة للعُمر حول الصحة الإنجابية للفرد - أمر بالغ الأهمية أيضاً. فهو يساعد في منع الحمل غير المقصود والأمراض المنقولة جنسياً، وأيضا يُعِد الأفراد للدفاع عن أنفسهم.

التعليم عامل أساسي

التعليم عامل أساسي, فالنساء اللاتي حصلن على مستوى تعليمٍ أعلى أقرب من غيرهن إلى اتخاذ قرارات حرة بخصوص وسائل تنظيم الأسرة والرعاية الصحية، وإلى امتلاك القدرة على رفض ممارسة العلاقة الحميمة . إن التربية الجنسية الشاملة - أي المعلومات الدقيقة والملائمة للعُمر حول الصحة الإنجابية للفرد - أمر بالغ الأهمية أيضاً. فهو يساعد في منع الحمل غير المقصود والأمراض المنقولة جنسياً، وأيضا يُعِد الأفراد للدفاع عن أنفسهم.

مقدمو الخدمات الصحية

يلعب مقدمو الخدمات الصحية دورا حاسما في دعم الاستقلالية الجسدية وتأكيدها لكل مَن يلتمسون الرعاية والحصول على معلومات. ويجب أن يكون المرضى من النساء والفتيات على دراية بحقوقهن، كما يجب الحصول على موافقتهن المستنيرة. ويمكن للمبادئ التوجيهية الطبية والتدريبات على المتطلبات القانونية والتدريبات الخاصة بمراعاة الفوارق بين الجنسين أن تساعد مقدمي الرعاية الصحية في دعم الاستقلالية الجسدية للمرضى من النساء.

الأعراف الاجتماعية

يجب أيضاً أن تصبح الأعراف الاجتماعية أكثر إنصافاً بين الجنسين. فالارتقاء بفُرص النساء وسبل كسب عيشهن وبأدوارهن القيادية في مجتمعهن الصغير وخارجه من شأنه أن يزيد قدرتهن على اتخاذ القرارات داخل أسرهن وبخصوص أجسادهن. بيد أن إحراز التقدم في هذا الشأن متوقف بالأساس على استعداد الرجال للتخلي عن الهيمنة المطلقة التي تسبغ على سلطتهم وخياراتهم ميزةً على حساب سلطة المرأة وخياراتها.

الأعراف الاجتماعية

يجب أيضاً أن تصبح الأعراف الاجتماعية أكثر إنصافاً بين الجنسين. فالارتقاء بفُرص النساء وسبل كسب عيشهن وبأدوارهن القيادية في مجتمعهن الصغير وخارجه من شأنه أن يزيد قدرتهن على اتخاذ القرارات داخل أسرهن وبخصوص أجسادهن. بيد أن إحراز التقدم في هذا الشأن متوقف بالأساس على استعداد الرجال للتخلي عن الهيمنة المطلقة التي تسبغ على سلطتهم وخياراتهم ميزةً على حساب سلطة المرأة وخياراتها.

القوانين

إنّ القوانين لها تأثير كبير على حقوق المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين والصحة الجنسية والإنجابية. ويجب أن تتواءم مع مبادئ حقوق الإنسان والتزاماتها المتفق عليها عالمياً، ومراجعتها من أجل استجابة تراعي النوع الاجتماعي. ويجب أن يكون القضاء والشرطة على دراية بهذه القوانين والمبادئ.

وأخيراً، فإنّ معرفة الروابط بين الأشكال المختلفة للاستقلالية الجسدية يُمكن أن تحفز الناشطين - بدءاً من العاملين في مجال حقوق الأقليات والفئات المهمشة بما في ذلك، ذوي الإعاقة وحقوق المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسية وحاملي صفات الجنسين وحقوق المجتمعات الأصلية - للعمل معاً نحو رؤية موحدة لاحترام والكرامة وحق تقرير المصير.

تحقيقات صحفية

  1. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  2. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  3. Thumbnail Hülya Özdemir
  4. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  5. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  6. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  7. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
Close

ممارسة الجنس كمهنة

تدافع ليانا عن حقوق المشتغلات بالجنس في إندونيسيا.
العمل الفني الأصلي بواسطة نعومي فونا؛ الصورة مقدمة كمجاملة من ليانا.

أوضحت ليانا من خلال مترجمة في إندونيسيا أن "علمي بأن لي رأياً وبأنني أسيطر على جسدي لم يأت إلا بعد اشتغالي بالجنس."

لكن ليانا باتت اليوم معتادة على تحطم الآمال؛ فهي جامعية من الطبقة المتوسطة وسبق لها العمل بوظيفة محاسِبة، ولا ينطبق عليها التصور السائد عن المشتغلات بالجنس؛ إذ تقول: "توفي زوجي عندما كان رضيعي في شهره الرابع." لم يكن دخلها كافياً، وكانت تجارة عائلتها مترنحة، فيما كانت أختها تواجه مصاعب مالية.

تقول: "زرت أحد الأماكن المرخصة للاشتغال بالجنس، وطلبت العمل لديه،" مؤكدة أن ذلك كان باختيارها، مضيفة: "فعلت ذلك باختياري ودونما إجبار."

أما اليوم فقد أصبحت ليانا المنسق الوطني لمؤسسة ، وهي شبكة تدعم المشتغلات بالجنس بالخدمات الصحية وبالمساعدة القانونية وبالمناصرة. كما تحظى مؤسسة OPSI بالدعم من صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان. هنا توضح ليانا مدى "التباين بين ظروف الاشتغال بالجنس، إذ يوجد مشتغلون ذكور بالجنس، وآخرون من مغايري الجنس، فيما تختلف أسباب الاشتغال بالجنس من شخص لآخر. لكن معظمهم يسعون إلى مصدر دخل."

أصبحت مونيكا، في مقدونيا الشمالية، مشتغلة بالجنس بعد فقدان وظيفتها وطلاقها، وتؤكد هي الأخرى أن قرارها كان بمحض اختيارها، فتقول: "كنت أبلغ من العُمر 19 أو 20 عاماً. كنت على مستوى كافٍ من الوعي والنضج للتفكير فيما أريد وما لا أريد." واليوم، تعمل مونيكا منسقةً إقليميةً لمؤسسة "سْتار" (STAR) التي تعد أول تعاونية للمشتغلين بالجنس في منطقة البلقان، وهي أحد شركاء صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان، وتقول مونيكا إنها فهمت أن هذا هو المجرى الطبيعي للأمور: "أنا محاطة في غالب الأحيان بمشتغلات بالجنس انخرطن في هذا المجال باختيارهن.

ومع ذلك، تتفق ليانا ومونيكا على أن الاتجار بالجنس -أي: الاستغلال الجنسي بطريق القوة أو الإكراه أو الاحتيال أو الخداع- يعد مبعث قلق خطير في مجال الاشتغال بالجنس. وتتعاون مؤسستا ليانا ومونيكا تعاوناً وثيقاً مع الناجيات، وتساعدهن في تأمين الخدمات والخروج من عالم الاشتغال بالجنس إن اخترن ذلك.

غير أن شيوع الاستغلال والانتهاك قد أخذ الكلام باتجاه الوضع القانوني للاشتغال بالجنس، ذلك بأن المطالبين بترخيصه والرافضين له يسوقون حاجة الأشخاص إلى الحماية من الانتهاكات.

وإلى جانب من يعارضون الترخيص نجد أن فكرة الرضا في صناعة الجنس محفوفة بالمخاطر في حد ذاتها. بل إن الدراسات توضح أن كثيراً من المقبلين على الاشتغال بالجنس قد مروا بمكامن ضعف كثيرة؛ ومن ذلك الفقر والاستغلال في مرحلة الطفولة، واضطراب الأسرة، ومعوقات تحول دون مباشرة نشاطٍ اقتصادي نظامي، بما في ذلك الافتقار إلى التعليم (ماكارثي وآخرون، 2014). ويُنظر إلى هذه الظروف على أنها تقوّض رضاهم الحُر القائم عن عِلم. علاوة على ذلك، هناك نسبة هامّة من المشتغلين بالجنس (تقدر بما بين 20 و40 في المائة) تفيد باشتغالها بالجنس منذ الطفولة (بارسيسيبي وآخرون، 2016)، وتلك مخالفة صريحة لحقوق الإنسان.

تصدت وثائق حقوق الإنسان لكل مكامن الضعف تلك، فاتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة تدعو إلى أن "تتخذ الدول الأطراف جميع التدابير المناسبة، بما في ذلك التشريع، لمكافحة جميع أشكال الاتجار بالمرأة واستغلال دعارة المرأة". كما أن بروتوكولات اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الجريمة المنظمة عبر الوطنية تشمل "تقديم أو تلقي مدفوعات أو مزايا لتحقيق رضا شخص مسيطر على آخر بغرض الاستغلال"، وذلك ضمن تعريف الاتجار بالأشخاص.

لكن كثيراً من أنصار المشتغلين بالجنس يرون أن التركيز على مكامن الضعف يحرم هؤلاء المشتغلين من السلامة والاستقلال الذاتي فعلياً، وهنا نتذكر أن ليانا ومونيكا قد اختارتا بمحض إرادتيهما مواصلة الاشتغال بالجنس حتى بعد تلقيهن دخلا لائقا من خارج تجارة الجنس.

لذا تقول ليانا: "من فضلكم لا تفترضوا أن كل المشتغلات بالجنس هنّ ضحايا للاتجار، فمنهنّ من اخترن هذا العمل بمحض إرادتهنّ مثلي. ولا أحد يخدعنا أو يستغلنا. وعندما نسأل أعضاء مؤسسة OPSI عما إذا كانوا يريدون التوقف عن الاشتغال بالجنس إذا وجدن وظائف أخرى فمعظمهن يجبن بالرفض." وتعلل ذلك بقولها إن الوظائف الأخرى المتاحة للمشتغلين بالجنس هي وظائف منخفضة الأجر في الغالب، في حين أن الاشتغال بالجنس يمتاز بالمرونة التي تُعد محل تفضيل ورغبة. وتضيف قائلة: "يمكن للمشتغلات بالجنس إدارة أوقاتهن، والوفاء بالتزاماتهن في المجتمع، بل والشعور بقربٍ أكثر إلى أطفالهن."

تجرّم معظم البلدان الاشتغال بالجنس أو ببعض جوانبه (مثل تيسيره)، وذلك حسب الشبكة العالمية لمشاريع الاشتغال بالجنس. تجد ليانا ومونيكا أن تلك القوانين تدفع المهنة وأهلها إلى التخفي، وبذلك يعسر على المشتغلات بالجنس تمييز العملاء العنيفين واستبعادهم. كما تؤكدان أن التجريم يترك المشتغلات بالجنس عرضة للاعتقال والخوف من الإبلاغ عن المنتهكين والمستغلين. بل إن مونيكا تؤكد إقدام بعض عناصر الشرطة على التحرش بالمشتغلات بالجنس واستغلالهن، "وذلك لأنهم يعلمون أنّ الاشتغال بالجنس غير قانوني ويعتقدون أنه يصعب علينا الإبلاغ عن تلك المخالفات وأنّ لا حيلة في هذا الصدد."

إنهم يريدون إنفاذ التجريم والمقاضاة على مرتكبي العنف الجنسي والاستغلال الجنسي، لا على الاشتغال بالجنس. لذا تقول ليانا: العنف ليس مجرد مشكلة في أوساط المشتغلات بالجنس، بل هو مشكلة عند كل النساء وجميع فئات الأقليات."

تعززت جهود التحرك تحو ترخيص الاشتغال بالجنس في الأعوام القليلة الماضية في أروقة الأمم المتحدة، بالتوازي مع دعم كثير من الوكالات والبرامج لذلك مثل منظمة الصحة العالمية وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة المشترك المعني بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/متلازمة نقص المناعة المكتسبة (الإيدز)؛ وذلك باعتبار الترخيص المذكور وسيلة فعالة لمنع انتقال العدوى بالفيروس وللقضاء على التمييز ضد الفئات المعرّضة للخطر (منظمة الصحة العالمية، 2014؛ برنامج الأمم المتحدة المذكور، 2012).

وفي الوقت ذاته، تسعى الأمم المتحدة إلى تعزيز الجهود الرامية إلى القضاء على الاستغلال والانتهاك الجنسيين؛ فمباعث القلق المتعلقة بدخول القائمين على حفظ السلام والعمل الإنساني في علاقات استغلالية مع المشتغلات بالجنس والأفراد المهمشين والمعرضين للخطر قد دعت المؤسسة إلى التشدد في إنفاذ قواعد تحظر على منسوبيها تبادل الأموال أو السلع أو الخدمات نظير الجنس، حتى في البلدان التي تجيز قوانينها الاشتغال بالجنس. وعلى ذلك، فإن المواقف المستندة إلى أن الترخيص سيسهم في حماية صحة المشتغلين بالجنس وحقوقهم، إلى جانب فرض عدم شراء الخدمات الجنسية على الموظفين حتى لو كان ذلك قانونياً؛ إنما هي مواقف متناقضة كما يراها مسؤولو الأمم المتحدة.

تقرر إيفا بولكارت، منسقة جهود صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان لمنع الاستغلال والانتهاك الجنسيين، أنه "يجب على موظفي الأمم المتحدة ألا يشاركوا في أي نشاط من شأنه الإفضاء إلى استغلال جنسي. وهذا ليس حكماً صادراً على الاشتغال الطوعي بالجنس من جانب بالغين راضين واعين، لكن يجب علينا الإقرار بحقيقة أنّ شرعية العمل وحدها لا تضمن أنّ المشاركة في الاشتغال بالجنس هي مشاركة طوعية."

تتفق مونيكا وليانا أن المشروعية وحدها ليست كافية، إذ تريان أن الترخيص يجب أن يواكبه إزالة الوصم. وسيظل اضطرار المشتغلين بالجنس إلى العمل في الظلام قائماً، مقترناً بانتهاكات لا تبارح الظلام أيضاً؛ وذلك لحين إبداء الاحترام والكرامة للمشتغلين بالجنس شأنهم في ذلك شأن عامة المواطنين. لذا تقول مونيكا: "نحن أولياء أمور. نحن أبناء أناس عاديين. نحن أسر عادية. ولا داعي أن يعاملنا أي شخص معاملةً مختلفة عن الآخرين بسبب اختيارنا هذه المهنة. فالاشتغال بالجنس هو عملٌ أيضاً."

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X

SWOP Report 2021 - Realize

Can we realize autonomy for all?

Photo Photo Photo Icon

We can and must realize bodily autonomy for all. The first step is articulating and affirming the concept itself. Too many people are unaware that they even have the right to make choices over their own bodies and futures.

I learned that actually, hey, I can control my own body. My body is my own.

Education is key

Women with more education are more likely to make their own decisions about contraception and health care, and to be able to say no to sex. Comprehensive sexuality education—meaning age-appropriate, accurate information about one’s reproductive health and rights—is crucial, as well. This education not only helps prevent unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections, it also equips individuals to advocate for themselves.

Education is key

Women with more education are more likely to make their own decisions about contraception and health care, and to be able to say no to sex. Comprehensive sexuality education—meaning age-appropriate, accurate information about one’s reproductive health and rights—is crucial, as well. This education not only helps prevent unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections, it also equips individuals to advocate for themselves.

Health providers

Health providers have a critical role to play in upholding and affirming the bodily autonomy of those seeking information and care. Patients must be aware of their rights, and they must be asked for informed consent. Medical guidelines, trainings on legal requirements, and specific gender-sensitivity trainings can help health-care providers actively support the bodily autonomy of patients.

Social norms

Social norms must also become more gender equitable. Improving women’s opportunities for livelihoods and leadership roles in their community and beyond can increase their power to make decisions within households and about their bodies. And progress fundamentally depends on men being willing to step away from dominating roles that privilege their power and choices at the expense of women’s power and choices.

Social norms

Social norms must also become more gender equitable. Improving women’s opportunities for livelihoods and leadership roles in their community and beyond can increase their power to make decisions within households and about their bodies. And progress fundamentally depends on men being willing to step away from dominating roles that privilege their power and choices at the expense of women’s power and choices.

Laws

Laws can have a significant impact on women’s rights, gender equality, and sexual and reproductive health. They must be aligned with globally agreed human rights principles and commitments, and reviewed for gender responsiveness. The judiciary and police must also be aware of these laws and principles.

And finally, seeing the linkages between different forms of bodily autonomy can animate activists—from those working in disability rights, LGBTI rights and the rights of indigenous communities, for example—to work together towards a unified vision of respect, dignity and self-determination.

Artwork

  1. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  2. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  3. Thumbnail Hülya Özdemir
  4. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  5. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  6. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  7. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
Close

When sex is work

Liana advocates for the rights of sex workers in Indonesia.
Original artwork by Naomi Vona; image courtesy of Liana.

“Knowing that I have a say and that I’m in control of my own body, I really only learned those things after becoming a sex worker,” Liana explained through a translator in Indonesia.

By now, Liana is used to shattering expectations; as a middle-class university graduate and former accountant, she does not fit the stereotype of a sex worker. “When my baby was four months old, my husband passed away,” she recalled. Her income did not stretch far enough and, at the same time, her family’s business was struggling and her sister was facing financial hardship.

“I visited one of the established venues for sex work and applied to work there,” she said, emphasizing that this was her choice. “I did it independently and without force.”

These days, Liana is the national coordinator of OPSI, a network that supports sex workers with services including health care. OPSI is supported by UNFPA. “Sex workers are actually quite diverse,” she explained. “There are male sex workers, transgender sex workers, and the reasons people choose to engage in sex work vary from person to person. The majority are seeking a source of income.”

Monika, in North Macedonia, became a sex worker after she lost her job and got divorced. She, too, is firm when she says this was her decision. “I was 19 or 20 years old. I was sufficiently aware and mature to think about what I did and what I didn’t want.” Today—as the regional coordinator of STAR, the first sex workers collective in the Balkans, also a UNFPA partner—she says she has observed that this is the norm: “I am most often surrounded by sex workers who voluntarily engage in sex work.”

Still, both Liana and Monika acknowledge that sex trafficking—sexual exploitation through force, coercion, fraud or deception—is a serious concern within the industry. Their respective organizations work closely with victims and survivors, helping them to secure services and exit sex work if they choose.

The prevalence of exploitation and abuse has driven much of the conversation around the legal status of sex work. Both proponents and opponents of decriminalization cite the need to protect people from abuses.

But for opponents of decriminalization, the notion of consent within the sex industry is inherently fraught. Indeed, studies show that many entrants into sex work have experienced heightened vulnerablities, such as a history of childhood poverty, abuse and family instability, as well as barriers to the formal economy, including lack of education (McCarthy and others, 2014). These conditions are seen as undermining their free and informed consent. Additionally, a significant proportion of sex workers—estimated at between 20 and 40 per cent—report entering sex work as children (Parcesepe and others, 2016), a clear human rights violation.

Human rights instruments have responded to these vulnerabilities. The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination against Women calls for “all appropriate measures, including legislation, to suppress all forms of traffic in women and exploitation of prostitution of women”. And the Protocols of the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime include “the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person for the purpose of exploitation” within the definition of trafficking in persons.

But many sex worker advocates say the focus on vulnerability actually strips away their safety and autonomy. Both Liana and Monika say they freely chose to continue sex work even while earning decent incomes outside the sex trade.

“Please don’t assume that all sex workers are victims of trafficking. There are people like me who choose this work intentionally. We’re not being tricked,” Liana said. “When we ask OPSI members whether they would want to stop sex work if they could find other jobs, most of the time the answer is no.” Other jobs available to sex workers are often low wage, she explained, and sex work offers flexibility that many find desirable. “They can manage their own time. They can fulfil their obligations in society, and they can feel closer to their kids.”

Sex work, or aspects of it (such as facilitation), is illegal in the majority of countries, according to the Global Network of Sex Work Projects. Liana and Monika say such laws only drive the profession underground, where sex workers have a harder time screening out violent clients. Criminalization also leaves sex workers vulnerable to arrest and fearful of reporting abusers, they assert. Some police also harass and abuse sex workers, Monika said, “knowing that sex work is not legal and thinking that we cannot report it and that there is nothing we can do”.

They want to see the criminalization—and prosecution—of sexual violence and exploitation rather than sex work. “Violence is not just an issue among sex workers. It’s an issue for all women and minority groups,” Liana emphasized.

The movement to decriminalize sex work has gained ground in recent years at the United Nations, with many agencies and programmes, such as the World Health Organization and UNAIDS, embracing it as an effective means to prevent HIV transmission and end discrimination against vulnerable populations (WHO, 2014; UNAIDS, 2012).

At the same time, the United Nations is stepping up efforts to eliminate sexual exploitation and abuse. Concerns over peacekeepers and humanitarian workers entering exploitative relationships with sex workers and vulnerable and marginalized individuals have prompted the institution to strengthen the enforcement of rules that prohibit staff from exchanging money, goods or services for sex, even in countries where sex work is legal. These positions—that decriminalization will help safeguard the health and rights of sex workers, and also that staff members must not purchase sex, even where legal—are not contradictory, say United Nations officials.

“UN personnel must not participate in any activity that could even potentially result in sexual exploitation. This is not a judgment on voluntary sex work by consenting, informed adults, but we must acknowledge the reality that legality alone does not ensure that participation in sex work is voluntary,” said Eva Bolkart, who coordinates UNFPA’s efforts to prevent sexual exploitation and abuse.

Monika and Liana agree that legality alone is not enough. For them, decriminalization must come alongside destigmatization. Until sex workers are afforded the respect and dignity of normal citizens, they will continue to be forced to operate in the shadows, where abuses can be hidden. “We are parents. We are someone’s children. We have families,” Monika said. “There is no need for anyone to treat us differently from others because of the choice of our profession. Sex work is work.”

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X