Media Contacts

The UNFPA media contacts listed below can answer your questions about UNFPA's work in the areas of population and reproductive health and can arrange interviews with experts who can give you more details. They can put you in touch with experts on the following topics:

  • sexual and reproductive health ( including voluntary family planning, maternal health)
  • adolescents and youth (including teen pregnancy, female genital mutilation, child marriage and other harmful practices)
  • women's empowerment (including gender-based violence and discriminatory practices, such as gender-biased sex selection)
  • giving priority to the needs of women in emergencies
  • Sustainable development goals and priorities.

Below contact information is for media inquiries only. For general inquiries please contact hq@unfpa.org.

NY Headquarters 

Mr. Abubakar Dungus
Chief, Media and Communications Branch
dungus@unfpa.org
Tel: +1 212 297 5031
Language: English

Mr. Omar Gharzeddine: General media inquiries; Development Goals; State of World Population report; Arab States; North America
Media Specialist
gharzeddine@unfpa.org
Tel: +1 212 297 5028
Languages: English, Arabic

Mr. Jeffrey Bates: General media inquiries; Reproductive health, including maternal health and family planning; HIV/AIDS; gender, emergencies; Asia-Pacific; Africa
Media Specialist
bates@unfpa.org
Tel: +1 212 297 5208
Language: English

Mr. Eddie Wright: General media inquiries; population/demographics; youth; ageing; celebrity relations; Europe
Communication Specialist, Youth and Population
ewright@unfpa.org
Tel: +1 212 297 2717
Languages: English, French

Regional Communications Advisers

Please see our 'Worldwide' page for more information on UNFPA's geographical organization.

Ms. Celine Adotevi
Communications Specialist for West and Central Africa Regional Office (Dakar)
adotevi@unfpa.org
Tel. +221 33 859 8237

Ms. Tamara Alrifai
Regional Communications Adviser for Arab States  (Cairo)
alrifai@unfpa.org

Mr. Jens-Hagen Eschenbächer
Regional Communications Adviser for Eastern Europe and Central Asia  (Istanbul)
eschenbaecher@unfpa.org
Tel. +90 212 705 36 72

Mr. Adebayo Fayoyin
Regional Communications Adviser for South and East Africa  (Johannesburg)
fayoyin@unfpa.org
Tel. +27 11 603 5303

Mr. Alvaro Serrano
Regional Communications Adviser for Latin America and the Caribbean  (Panama)
serrano@unfpa.org
Tel. +507 305 5549 

Mr. Roy Wadia
Regional Communications Adviser for Asia and the Pacific (Bangkok)
wadia@unfpa.org
Direct: +66 2 687 0111 
Mobile: +66 848 752 634