ماذا يُقصَد بالاستقلالية الجسدية؟

Photo Photo Photo أيقونة

يُقصد بمفهوم الاستقلالية الجسدية أن تكون لدى النساء القوة والقدرة على اتخاذ قراراتٍ تتعلق بأجسادهن ومستقبلهن دون عنفٍ أو إكراه. ويشمل ذلك اتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بممارسة العلاقة الحميمية كما يشمل أيضاً اتخاذ القرار بشأن الرغبة في الحمل، وتوقيته وعدد الأطفال. وتعني الاستقلالية الجسدية أيضاً حرية مراجعة الطبيب كلما كانت هناك حاجة إلى ذلك.

ومع ذلك، تواجه النساء والفتيات - بل والأشخاص جميعاً - قيوداً بشأن استقلاليتهم الجسدية. ويمكن أن تكون العواقب المترتبة عن ذلك وخيمة فيما يتعلق بصحتهم ورفاههم وإمكاناتهم في الحياة. وثمة ارتباطٌ وثيق بين الاستقلالية الجسدية والحق في السلامة الجسدية الذي يكفل للإنسان السلامة من أي ممارسات جسدية لا تلق رضاهم.

قد يؤثر ذلك على صحتها النفسية ورفاهها الاجتماعي وعلاقتها بشريكها ...

تُنتهَك الاستقلالية الجسدية والسلامة الجسدية عندما يمنع الزوج المرأة من استخدام وسائل تنظيم الأسرة. وتُنتهَك الاستقلالية الجسدية والسلامة الجسدية عندما تُجبَر النساء والفتيات على ممارسة الجنس غير المرغوب فيه مقابل مسكنٍ وغذاء. وتُنتهَكان أيضاً عندما يتعذّر على ذوي الميول الجنسية والهويات الجنسانية المختلفة السير في الشارع بلا خوف من التعرض لاعتداء أو إهانة. وتُنتهَكان كذلك عندما تُحرم ذوي الإعاقة من حقوقهن في تقرير المصير، ومن التحرر من العنف والتمتع بحياة جنسية آمنة مُرضية.

بعض هذه الانتهاكات، مثل الاغتصاب، تُجرَّم صراحةً وتُدان على نطاقٍ عام. بيْد أنّ كثيراً من الأشكال الأخرى تُرتكَب تحت غطاء الأعراف والممارسات وحتى القوانين، ومعظمها مدفوع بأوجه التفاوت المتأصلة بين الجنسين.

يوجد هنا قاسم مشترك، ألا وهو حق الذكر في السيطرة على الشريكة.

ترخيصٌ بالانتهاك

قائمة ببعض الطرق التي تبرر بها المجتمعات انتهاكات الاستقلالية الجسدية

فحص العذرية والفحص الشرجي القَسْري

2018

أفغانستان تحظر فحوصات العذرية القائمة دون موافقة

فحص العذرية والفحص الشرجي القَسْري

ينتهك فحص العذرية (الفحوصات الجراحية وغير العلمية "لإثبات" ما إذا كانت الفتاة أو المرأة قد مارست الجماع) والفحوصات الشرجية القَسْرية (الاختبارات الجراحية وغير العلمية "لإثبات" السلوك الجنسي المثلي) حقوق الإنسان والكرامة المكفولة للنساء والفتيات. وعندما تُجرى هذه الفحوصات دون موافقتهن، فإنها ترقى إلى حدّ التعذيب. ومع ذلك، لا تزال هذه الفحوصات منتشرة في أنحاء شتّى من العالم.

التعقيم القَسْري واستخدام وسائل منع الحمل

87%

من البلدان

موافقة كاملة وحرة ومستنيرة بشأن وسائل تنظيم الأسرة/التعقيم*

التعقيم القَسْري واستخدام وسائل منع الحمل

ينطوي استخدام وسائل منع الحمل القَسْري والتعقيم القَسْري على تاريخ مروع وعالمي. ففي بلدان شتّى حول العالم، تعرّض أشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة ومن المجتمعات الأصلية والأقليات المضطهدة، وفي بعض الحالات النساء بشكل عام، لوسائل منع الحمل القَسْرية أو التعقيم لأسباب تتراوح بين تحسين النسل والحد من زيادة السكان. ويُعد التعقيم غير الطوعي أو منع الحمل انتهاكاً لحقوق الإنسان والأخلاقيات الطبية.

* من بين 104 بُلدان رفعت بياناتها

جرائم الاغتصاب الناجمة عن معاداة المثليين ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية

هناك ما يقرب من

300

مليون شخص

حول العالم يعرّفون عن أنفسهم بأنهم من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية وحاملي صفات الجنسين

جرائم الاغتصاب الناجمة عن معاداة المثليين ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية

غالباً ما ينظر الجناة إلى الاغتصاب وغيره من أشكال العنف الجنسي المُرتكَبة في حق الأفراد غير المتوافقين جنسانياً أو الأشخاص من ذوي الميول الجنسية المتنوعة باعتباره "علاجياً" أو "تصحيحياً". وكثيراً ما يُقابل هذا العنف بالإفلات من العقاب من قبل المجتمعات المحلية أو النظم القانونية.

الزواج القَسْري وزواج الأطفال

هناك ما يقرب من

12

مليون فتاة

يُزوَّجن سنوياً

الزواج القَسْري وزواج الأطفال

يحظر القانون زواج الأطفال على نطاق واسع، بيْد أنّه لا يزال يؤثر على نسبة كبيرة من الفتيات حول العالم. وكثيراً ما تُحرم الخاضعات لزواج الأطفال من حقهن في اتخاذ قرارات بشأن صحتهن الجنسية والإنجابية، أو غالباً ما يفتقرن إلى معلومات دقيقة في هذا الشأن. وتنجم حالات الزواج القَسْري نتيجة للممارسات في المجتمعات الأبوية وتصبح العروس بتلك الممارسات سلعة أو ملكية يمكن امتلاكها أو شراؤها أو بيعها أو مقايضتها، دونما اعتبار لحقوقها أو استقلاليتها. كما أن الجنس القَسْري وحالات الحمل المبكر والمتعاقب ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بمعدلات مرتفعة من أمراض ووفيات الأمهات والأطفال، علاوة على تدهور الصحة العقلية.

تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية المعروف بالختان

تتعرض

4

مليون فتاة

على الأقل كل عام لخطر تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث)

تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية المعروف بالختان

يُعد تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث) انتهاكاً لحقوق الإنسان المكفولة للنساء والفتيات وأحد الأشكال المتطرفة للتمييز والعنف المُرتكَب في حقهن ، بهدف السيطرة على حياتهن الجنسية وأجسادهن وحقوقهن الجنسية والإنجابية. وعندما تسوق الأسر والمجتمعات المحلية أسباباً ثقافية ودينية واجتماعية لممارسة تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (الختان الإناث)، فإن مبررات الممارسة تتمحور حول الحاجة إلى تقليل الرغبة الجنسية عند النساء.

جرائم "الشرف"

هناك ما يقرب من

5,000

جريمة قتل دفاعاً عن الشرف كل عام

جرائم "الشرف"

تحدث جرائم الشرف في المجتمعات المحلية التي يُعد فيها ما يسمى بـ "شرف" الأسرة أهم من حياة الشخص المَعني، الذي عادة ما يكون امرأة، وذلك حال مخالفتها أعرافاً أو ضوابط معينة. وشملت مسوغات تلك الجرائم الانفصال عن الزوج الذي دفع ثمن العروس، أو رفض الدخول في زواجٍ مدبّر، أو الدخول في علاقة مع شخص من دين آخر أو من مجموعة عرقية أو طبقة أخرى، أو ممارسة الجنس قبل الزواج أو خارج إطاره، أو كون المرأة ضحية اغتصاب أو اعتداء، أو اعتبار الشخص مثلياً.

الاغتصاب في إطار الزواج وقوانين "الزواج من المُغتَصِب

43

الدول

لا يوجد فيها قوانين تتصدى للاغتصاب في إطار الزواج

الاغتصاب في إطار الزواج وقوانين "الزواج من المُغتَصِب

لم يتبلور الجنس القَسْري أو دون تراضٍ مع الزوج كمفهومٍ إلا في الآونة الأخيرة. ففي الماضي، كانت الأعراف الأبوية تنص على أنه بمجرد عقد الزواج، فإن الرجل "يتملك" جسد زوجته ويمكنه استخدامه لممارسة الجنس متى شاء. واليوم، يتزايد الاعتراف بالاغتصاب الزوجي باعتباره انتهاكاً صارخاً لحقوق الإنسان. ومع ذلك، لا تزال بعض البلدان تسمح للزوج بممارسة الجنس سواء أرادت الزوجة ذلك أم لا، وهناك بلدان يمكن فيها للرجل الذي يغتصب امرأة أن يُفلت من العقاب إذا تزوجها.

الإكراه على الإنجاب

15-25%

تبلغ نسبة الانتشار التقديري للإكراه على الإنجاب في الولايات المتحدة

الإكراه على الإنجاب

الإكراه على الإنجاب هو أي سلوك يتخذه شخصٌ ما لفرض سيطرته على الصحة الإنجابية لشخص آخر أو لاتخاذ القرار في هذا الشأن. ويمكن أن يشمل ذلك إكراه الشريكة على الحمل ضد رغبتها وإكراه الشريكة على الإجهاض، والتدخل في وسائل تنظيم الأسرة مثل "الانسلال" (الإزالة دون تراضٍ للواقي الذكري في أثناء ممارسة الجنس). ويمكن أن يُرتكب الإكراه على الإنجاب من قِبل الشريك الحميم أو الأسر أو أفراد المجتمع المحلي.

الحرمان من التربية الجنسية الشاملة

هناك ما يقرب من

56%

من البلدان

لديها قوانين/سياسات تدعم التربية الجنسية الشاملة

الحرمان من التربية الجنسية الشاملة

إنّ المحظورات المتعلقة بتلقّي تربية جنسية شاملة والمخاوف من تحفيز الشباب "جنسياً" تعني أن كثيراً من المراهقات يصلن إلى مرحلة البلوغ دون معلومات دقيقة عن أجسادهن وصحتهن الإنجابية. ونتيجة لذلك، يصبحن غير قادرات على اتخاذ قرارات مسؤولة عن أنفسهن وعلاقاتهن.

* من بين 98 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة؛ هناك حوالي

2018

أفغانستان تحظر فحوصات العذرية القائمة دون موافقة

فحص العذرية والفحص الشرجي القَسْري

ينتهك فحص العذرية (الفحوصات الجراحية وغير العلمية "لإثبات" ما إذا كانت الفتاة أو المرأة قد مارست الجماع) والفحوصات الشرجية القَسْرية (الاختبارات الجراحية وغير العلمية "لإثبات" السلوك الجنسي المثلي) حقوق الإنسان والكرامة المكفولة للنساء والفتيات. وعندما تُجرى هذه الفحوصات دون موافقتهن، فإنها ترقى إلى حدّ التعذيب. ومع ذلك، لا تزال هذه الفحوصات منتشرة في أنحاء شتّى من العالم.

تحقيقات صحفية

  1. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  2. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  3. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  4. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  5. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  6. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
Close

استشعار التهديد من حياة المرأة الجنسية

تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث) لا يعد مجرد مسألة صحية؛ بل من المسائل الجنسية.
العمل الفني الأصلي بواسطة نعومي فونا؛ مصدر الصورة: هناء لوبيز على موقع Unsplash.

الثقافة والتقاليد والدين هي من بين أكثر الدوافع شيوعا للممارسة تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث)؛ غير أن الرغبة الجنسية المكبوتة تكاد تكون مفهومة عالمياً بوصفها من إحدى نتائج تلك الممارسة، بل إنها تعد محفزاً رئيساً لها. وقد جادل الكثير من مناصري تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للإناث أن الحياة الجنسية غير المكبوحة الجماح للأنثى إنما هي تهديد للعفاف والشرف والفضيلة (بيرغ ودينيسن، 2013).

يرى الخبراء أن الحديث الصريح عن الحياة الجنسية للمرأة والسلامة الجسدية والاستقلالية الجسدية قد تشكّل لهذه الممارسة التشويهية ترياقاً غير متوقّع.

كما أن الجهود المبذولة للقضاء على ذلك التشويه قد انطلقت من الأضرار الجسدية الناجمة عنها تاريخياً، ومن بينها النزف والإنتان ومضاعفات مستقبلية عند الولادة، وصولاً إلى الوفاة. ومن ثم، فإن التركيز على التبعات الجسدية يتم استقباله بسهوله أكبر في المجتمعات المحافظة، حيث يكون الحديث عن الحياة الجنسية للأنثى من المحرمات. لكن التركيز على الأضرار الجسدية وحدها قد يفضي - دونما قصد - إلى نقل الكلام إلى الجانب الطبي للممارسة، أو ممارسة أنواع أخرى من القطع، بدلاً من تركها بالكلية (باول ويوسف، 2021).

أما التوسع في تلك المناقشات لتشمل توصيفا أميناً للأضرار الجنسية الناجمة عن تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث) فقد ساعدت وفاء بنيامين بسطة (طبيبة التوليد وأمراض النساء في مصر) على إقناع والديها برفض تلك الممارسة. كما أن توضيح الأضرار التي تشمل العجز عن بلوغ النشوة الجنسية والألم المصاحب للعلاقة الحميمية واجتنابها بسبب الاضطراب النفسي اللاحق للإصابة هو توضيح من شأنه أن يشكل رادعاً فعالاً، خصوصاً "إذا كانت الأم قد مرت بتجربة قاسية خلال الختان وهي صغيرة، أو مرت بمشاكل في حياتها الزوجية بسببه" كما تقول الدكتورة وفاء بسطة.

تتحدث الطبيبة باسترسال عن العواقب الاجتماعية والنفسية التي تنال من المرأة، فتقول: "قد يؤثر ذلك في صحتها العقلية، ورفاهها الاجتماعي، وعلاقتها بشريك الحياة؛ وهو ما قد يؤثر تأثيراً شديداً في مفهوم الأسرة في حد ذاته."

من الأسباب التي تمكّن الدكتورة بسطة من إجراء تلك المناقشات الصريحة عملها كطبيبة، إذ تقول: "يوجد رابط بين المريض والطبيب، والأهم من ذلك هو القبول المتنامي لحقوق المرأة وتمكينها في مصر، أي أن الأفكار تتغير، خصوصاً عند الأجيال الجديدة."

ومع تراجع المخاوف من الحياة الجنسية للأنثى واتساع النظرة إلى الرفاه الجنسي ضمن الإطار الأشمل للصحة النفسية والاجتماعية، بات من الأيسر إعادة النظر في ممارسة تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث).

تضيف الدكتورة وفاء بسطة أن مشاهداتها مقصورة على المناقشات السرية التي تتاح لها مع مريضاتها، وأن الارتياح إلى طرح تلك الموضوعات يختلف باختلاف المجتمع والطبيب الممارس. ومع ذلك، فإنها شاهدة على تقدم كبير قد تحققَ خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، وهي مستبشرة بالمستقبل من حيث القضاء على تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية الأنثوية (ختان الإناث) وتعزيز الصحة الجنسية والرفاه الجنسي للمرأة. وعن ذلك تقول: "لا حرج مطلقاً في الحديث عن ذلك."

Close

التعبير عن الانتهاك

عملت ليدي لندنو في مجال تقديم الدعم والمعلومات اللازمة للناجين من الاعتداء الجنسي، وذلك بشكلٍ مباشر وجهاً لوجه وعبر الهاتف، وكذلك عبر الدردشة الإلكترونية.
العمل الفني الأصلي بواسطة نعومي فونا؛ الصورة © صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان/ر. زيرزان.

عملت ليدي لوندونو في مناصرة الناجيات في الولايات المتحدة على مدار سنين، اعتادت في خلالها سماع تعبيرات عن الصدمة والخوف والخزي يستعملها الأشخاص في صراعهم مع تبعات الاعتداء الجنسي. كما تخلل ذلك إنصاتها لضحايا لا تكاد تجد كلمات للتعبير عن شكلٍ من أشكال الانتهاك الجنسي، وهذه ظاهرة شديدة الانتشار لكنها غير مفهومة على النحو الصحيح؛ حتى بالنسبة إلى من عايشوها أو ارتكبوها: ألا وهي الإكراه الإنجابي.

رافقت لوندونو ناجيات إلى المستشفيات وقدمت استشارات لهن عبر الخط الساخن، فتوضح تلك الظاهرة قائلةً: "تنطوي هذه الظاهرة على سلوكيات يتخللها لجوء الشريك أو شخص ما إلى استدامة القوة والسيطرة في إطار علاقة متعلقة بالصحة الإنجابية." تعمل لوندونو محاضرةً ومديرَ برامج حالياً لدى مؤسسة Planned Parenthood في واشنطن العاصمة. وتضيف: "تتخذ هذه الظاهرة أشكالاً كثيرة. إذ توجد محاولات صريحة لإخصاب الشريكة بالمخالفة لرغبتها. وقد يتعلق الأمر بالسيطرة على نتائج الحمل، أو إكراه الشريكة على ممارسة جنسية دون وقاية، أو التدخل الصريح أو الضمني في وسائل تنظيم الأسرة، أو الكذب أو الخداع بخصوص طرق تنظيم الأسرة."

تفتقر الناجيات إلى لغة مشتركة لوصف انتهاك محدد تعرضن له عندما حُرمن من السيطرة على خصوبتهن أو صحتهن الجنسية، سواءً وافقن على اللقاء الجنسي أم لا. وبدون كلمات تحدد جوانب هذه التجربة فإنهن غالباً ما يعبّرن عن مشاعر التخبط واتهام الذات. تتذكر لوندونو شابة اكتشفت أن شريكها نزع الواقي الذكري خلسةً في أثناء الجماع – وهذا تصرف يُعرف باسم "الانسلال"، وتصف ذلك بقولها: "تساءلت الضحية في البداية: هل أنا أضخّم الأمر؟"

إن مفهوم "الإكراه الإنجابي" حديث نسبياً، فمعظم الدراسات التي عنيت بهذا الموضوع خلال العقدين الماضيين كان أغلبها في الولايات المتحدة حيث تشير التقديرات إلى شيوع الإكراه الإنجابي بنسبة 15 إلى 25 في المائة (بارك وآخرون، 2016). لكن الدراسات الحديثة تبين أن هذه الظاهرة منتشرة عالمياً، ولا يقترفها الشركاء فحسب، بل تجاريهم في ذلك الأسر وأفراد المجتمع (غريس وفليمنغ، 2016). وربما وجدت تلك الظاهرة تواطؤاً من النظم الصحية من خلال سياسات تشترط إذن الزوج قبل لجوء المرأة إلى تنظيم الأسرة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

عملت ديبيكا بول لعقود بصفة باحثة في الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية في بنغلادِش، ومع ذلك تقول إنها لم تكن على دراية بمصطلح الإكراه الإنجابي. لذا جنحت هي والكوادر الصحية وأنصار الحقوق إلى التحدث عن "عوائق تنظيم الأسرة".

واليوم، أصبحت بول خبيرة في هذا الموضوع. وانطلاقاً من عملها مستشارةً لدى إبسا في دكا، فإنها تشهد أشكالاً كثيرة من الإكراه الإنجابي، وعنها تقول: "بالنسبة إلى الأزواج الرجال... من الممكن ابتداء الموضوع معهم بقولنا "لا تستعن بأية وسيلة لتنظيم الأسرة،" ثم تتبع الزوجة رأي الزوج. وقد يصل الأمر إلى العنف الشديد، إذ أحياناً ما يلجأ الزوج إلى منع الطعام أو المال عن الزوجة إن هي رغبت في مواصلة استخدام وسائل تنظيم الأسرة." وغالباً ما يرتبط هذا العنف "بالأزواج الرجال" أو بأفراد الأسرة الآخرين الراغبين في إنجاب مزيد من الأطفال أو في إنجاب ذكور." وتضيف الخبيرة إنها تجد حالات للاستخدام القسري لوسائل تنظيم الأسرة وللإجهاض القسري.

لا يشيع اعتبار تلك التصرفات القسرية من أشكال العنف لأن الإنجاب قد يُنظر إليه باعتباره قرار أسرة. هنا تقرر بول أن "عائلة الزوج تنهض بدور ضخم." وأصدق ما يكون ذلك على الزوجات الصغيرات والقاصرات؛ علماً بأن متوسط عمر الزواج هو 16 وفق الدراسة الاستقصائية الديمغرافية والصحية التي أجريت في العام 2018. لذا تقرر الخبيرة أنه "من الصعب على الشابات اتخاذ قراراتهن وحدهن."

ومع ذلك، ثمة ارتباط واضح بين الإكراه الإنجابي والعنف، لذا تقدّر بول من واقع دراسة تعكف عليها أن ثلاثة نساء من بين كل خمس قلن إنهن تعرض للإكراه الإنجابي قد تعرضن أيضاً للعنف الجنسي أو الجسدي على أيدي أزواجهن.

استهل جاي سيلفرمان، الأستاذ بكلية الطلب في سان دييغو بجامعة كاليفورنيا، مسيرته المهنية بالعمل مع الرجال والفتيان الذين اقترفوا عنف الشريك الحميم. وعكف منذ ذلك الحين على دراسة الإكراه الإنجابي في بنغلادِش والهند وكينيا والنيجر والولايات المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من أن الإكراه الإنجابي قد يكون من فعل أفراد الأسرة من الإناث أحياناً، إلا أن هذا الانتهاك متأصل في عدم المساواة بين الجنسين كما يرى سيلفرمان.

فيقول: "يوجد قاسم مشترك هنا، ألا وهو حق الذكر في السيطرة على الشريكة... وعند مستوى ما من هذا الوعي الذي يحمله الرجل فإن اعتقاده في الحق في السيطرة هو شيء شائع في معظم مجتمعاتنا على ما أظن."

يعكف سيلفرمان وزملاؤه، بمن فيهم إيباس في بنغلادِش، على تجربة أدوات لمساعدة الكوادر الصحية في استجلاء حالات الإكراه الإنجابي، ومن ذلك صياغة أسئلة بخصوص توجهات الشريك وسلوكياته. وبمجرد الإقرار بوقوع الإكراه يمكن للمرأة إعادة فرض استقلاليتها الجسدية بسبل منها اختيار طرق تنظيم الأسرة التي يعسر على الشريك رصدها.

لكن حتى وإن لم تجد المرأة مفردات لوصف الإكراه الإنجابي فإن سيلفرمان يقول: "أعتقد أيضاً أن الإنسان يقاوم الشعور بالسيطرة عليه بالفطرة... وهناك كثير من استراتيجيات التأقلم التي استحدثتها نساء في مجتمعات حول أنحاء العالم بُغْيَة التأقلم مع الإكراه الإنجابي، بما في ذلك تقديم الدعم من امرأة لأخرى. وهذا مسلك طبيعي في كل مكان، فلطالما وُجدِت امرأة - سواء أكانت جارة أم من الأسرة - تُخفي الحبوب لامرأة أخرى أو تعينها على الذهاب إلى العيادة." كذلك جرت العادة عندما توزِّع العيادات منشورات بخصوص الإكراه الإنجابي وعنف الشريك وكيفية طلب المساعدة فإن المرأة غالباً ما تأخذ "ما استطاعت" منها حتى توزعها على أخريات.

إن معظم العبء المرتبط بالتصدي للإكراه الإنجابي واقع على مقدمي الخدمات الذين غالباً ما يواجهون التزاماً مزدوجاً: إذ يجب عليهم تحقيق التوازن بين إشراك الرجال في مسائل الصحة الإنجابية دونما تسليمهم كامل زمام القرار في هذا الصدد. وعن ذلك يقول سيلفرمان: "أصبحت مشاركة الرجل في مسائل الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية وصحة الأم والطفل من الأولويات على الصعيد العالمي." وقد ارتبطت مشاركة الرجل بزيادة في معدلات تنظيم الأسرة واستخدام وسائل تنظيم الأسرة وتحسين مخرجات العمل في مجالات صحة الأم والطفل (كرايل وآخرون، 2019؛ عساف وديفيس، 2018). لكن عندما يرغب الرجل في السيطرة على اختيارات الإنجاب الخاصة بالشريكة، "يصبح إشراك الرجل ضارّاً بوضوح."

والحق أن الرجال - بل الأشخاص من جميع تصنيفات النوع الاجتماعي والميل الجنسي - قد يقعون ضحيةً للإكراه الإنجابي. لذا ترى لوندونو أن "تجربة الإكراه الإنجابي قد تصيب أي شخص. "فالنساء في المجتمعات المهمشة يواجهن مستويات عنف بمعدلات متفاوتة، ويشمل ذلك الإكراه الإنجابي... لكن ذلك لا ينفي حقيقة مفادها أنني تحدثت إلى فتيان ورجال شباب ورجال في العموم يسعون إلى استجلاء حقيقة تجاربهم والتعبير عنها بكلمات وتسييقها".

لا بد من إتقان مفردات الإكراه الإنجابي، خصوصاً بين صناع السياسات. لذا ترى لوندونو أنه "عندما تكون قوانيننا وسياساتنا غامضة ولغتنا مبهمة، فلن يستفيد الناجون ولا الناجيات شيئاً."

كذلك لا بد من التوعية بالاستقلالية الجسدية، وقالت بول في أحد المشاريع الحديثة: "تحدثنا إلى نساءٍ، فاخترنَ هذه المفردات: جسدي، حقوقي"... واتفقن جميعاً على احتياجنا إلى بث هذه التوعية للجميع – وهي إنّ جسدي ملْكٌ لي."

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookie policy

X

SWOP Report 2021 - Autonomy

What is bodily autonomy?

Photo Photo Photo Icon

Bodily autonomy means that we have the power and agency to make choices over our bodies and futures, without violence or coercion. This includes when, whether or with whom to have sex. It includes when, whether or with whom you want to become pregnant. It means the freedom to go to a doctor whenever you need one.

Yet women and girls—and indeed, all people—face constraints on their bodily autonomy. The consequences to their health, well-being and potential in life can be devastating. Intertwined with bodily autonomy is the right to bodily integrity, where people can live free from physical acts to which they do not consent.

This may affect her mental health, social well-being and her relation with her partner…

Bodily autonomy and bodily integrity are violated when a husband prevents a woman from using contraception. They are violated when a person is forced to exchange unwanted sex for a home and food. They are violated when people with diverse sexual orientations and gender identities cannot walk down a street without fearing assault or humiliation. Bodily autonomy and integrity are violated when people with disabilities are stripped of their rights to self-determination, to be free from violence and to enjoy a safe and satisfying sexual life.

Some of these violations, such as rape, are expressly criminalized and universally condemned. But many other forms are perpetuated by norms, practices and even laws, most of them driven by deeply rooted gender inequalities.

There's a universal involved here, and it is male entitlement to control female partners.

License To Violate

An incomplete list of ways societies excuse violations of bodily autonomy

Virginity testing and forced anal testing

2018

Afghanistan bans non-consensual virginity tests

Virginity testing and forced anal testing

Virginity testing (invasive and unscientific tests to “prove” whether a girl or woman has had sexual intercourse) and forced anal exams (invasive and unscientific tests to “prove” homosexual conduct) violate individuals’ human rights and dignity. When performed without consent, they amount to torture. Yet they remain pervasive in many parts of the world.

Forced sterilization and contraception use

87%

of countries

require full, free, informed consent for contraceptives/sterilization*

Forced sterilization and contraception use

Forced contraceptive use and forced sterilization have a grim and global history. In countries around the world, persons with disabilities, indigenous communities and persecuted minorities, and in some cases women in general, have been subjected to forced contraception or sterilization for reasons ranging from eugenics to population control. Involuntary sterilization or contraception is a violation of human rights and medical ethics.

*Out of 104 reporting countries

Homophobic and transphobic rape

About

300M

People

worldwide identify as LGBTI

Homophobic and transphobic rape

Rape and other sexual violence that targets gender-non-conforming individuals and people of diverse sexual orientations is often deemed by perpetrators to be “curative” or “corrective.” This violence is often met with impunity by communities or legal systems.

Forced and child marriage

About

12M

girls

are married off each year

Forced and child marriage

Child marriage is widely prohibited by law, yet it continues to affect significant proportions of the world’s girls. Those subjected to child marriage are often denied their right to make decisions about, or lack accurate information about, their sexual and reproductive health. Forced marriages are driven by institutionalized patriarchal practices, where brides become a commodity, or property, to be owned, bought, sold or traded, with no regard for their rights or autonomy. Forced sex and early and frequent pregnancies are closely linked to high maternal and infant morbidity and mortality rates, as well as poor mental health.

Female genital mutilation

Every year, at least

4M

girls

are at risk of female genital mutilation

Female genital mutilation

Female genital mutilation is a violation of women’s and girls’ human rights and an extreme form of discrimination and violence directed exclusively at girls and women, aimed at controlling their sexuality, their bodies and their sexual and reproductive rights. While families and communities cite cultural, religious and social reasons for practising female genital mutilation, justifications centre on the need to reduce women’s sexual desire.

"Honour" killings

There are about

5,000

of these murders every year

"Honour" killings

Honour killings occur in communities where the so-called “honour” of the family is considered to be more important than the life of the person, usually a woman, who violates certain so-called norms or codes. Rationalizations for honour killings have included separation from a spouse who paid a bride price, refusing to enter into an arranged marriage, entering into a relationship with a person from a different religion, ethnic group or caste, engaging in premarital or extramarital sex, being the victim of rape or assault, or being identified as gay.

Marital rape and "Marry-your-rapist" laws

43

countries

have no laws addressing marital rape

Marital rape and "Marry-your-rapist" laws

Forced or nonconsensual sex with one’s spouse has only recently begun to be acknowledged as a concept. In the past, patriarchal norms held that once a marriage has taken place, a man “owns” his wife’s body and can use it for sex whenever he wants. Today, marital rape is increasingly recognized as an egregious human rights violation. Yet some countries continue to permit a husband to have intercourse whether the wife wants it or not, and there are countries where a man who rapes a woman can escape penalties if he marries her.

Reproductive coercion

15-25%

the estimated prevalence of reproductive coercion in the United States

Reproductive coercion

Reproductive coercion is any behaviour that a person uses to exert control over another person’s reproductive health or decision-making. This can include attempts to nonconsensually impregnate a partner against their wishes, coercing a partner to have an abortion, or interfering with family planning methods such as “stealthing” (the nonconsensual removal of a condom during sex). Reproductive coercion can be perpetrated by intimate partners, families or community members.

Denial of comprehensive sexuality education

about

56%

of countries

have laws/policies supporting comprehensive sexuality education*

Denial of comprehensive sexuality education

Taboos against comprehensive sexuality education and fears of “sexualizing” young people mean that many adolescents reach adulthood without accurate information about their bodies and sexual health. As a result, they are unable to make informed responsible choices about themselves and their relationships.

* Out of 98 countries reporting complete data

2018

Afghanistan bans non-consensual virginity tests

Virginity testing and forced anal testing

Virginity testing (invasive and unscientific tests to “prove” whether a girl or woman has had sexual intercourse) and forced anal exams (invasive and unscientific tests to “prove” homosexual conduct) violate individuals’ human rights and dignity. When performed without consent, they amount to torture. Yet they remain pervasive in many parts of the world.

Artwork

  1. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  2. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  3. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  4. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  5. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  6. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
Close

Threatened by a woman’s sexuality

Female genital mutilation is not simply a health issue. It is a sexuality issue.
Original artwork by Naomi Vona; photo by Hana Lopez on Unsplash.

Culture, tradition and religion are among the most commonly cited motivations for performing female genital mutilation. Yet curtailed sexual desire is almost universally understood to be an outcome of the practice and, in fact, it is also a key motivator. Many proponents of female genital mutilation have argued that unbridled female sexuality is somehow a threat to chastity, honour and virtue (Berg and Denison, 2013).

Frank conversations about female sexuality, bodily integrity and bodily autonomy may offer an unexpected antidote to the practice, experts say.

Efforts to end female genital mutilation have historically underscored the physical harms caused by the practice, which can include haemorrhage, sepsis, future childbirth complications and even death. Emphasis on the physical consequences is more easily received in conservative communities, where discussing female sexuality is often taboo. But a sole focus on physical harms may risk inadvertently leading to the medicalization of the practice, or the practice of alternative types of cutting, rather than its abandonment altogether (Powell and Yussuf, 2021).

Broadening these conversations to include an honest accounting of the sexual harms caused by female genital mutilation has helped Wafaa Benjamin Basta, an obstetrician and gynaecologist in Egypt, convince parents to reject the practice. Clearly articulating harms, like inability to experience orgasm, pain during intercourse, and aversion to sex due to post-traumatic stress disorder, has been an effective deterrent, especially “if the mother had a very bad experience while undergoing female genital mutilation when she was young or had troubles in her marital life because of the circumcision,” Dr. Basta said.

She speaks with ease about the social and psychological repercussions women can experience. “This may affect her mental health, social well-being and her relation with her partner, which may affect deeply the concept of the family itself.”

One reason Dr. Basta is able to have these forthright discussions is her role as a physician. “There is this bond between the patient and the doctor,” she said. But even more critical is the growing acceptance of women’s rights and empowerment in Egypt. “Minds are changing, especially for the new generations.”

As fears of female sexuality diminish, and sexual well-being is increasingly considered within the frame of psychological and social health, it becomes easier to rethink the practice of female genital mutilation.

Dr. Basta says her observations are limited to the confidential conversations she is able to have with her patients, and that comfort with these topics will vary by community and practitioner. Still, she has seen great progress in recent years, and is hopeful about the future, both for ending female genital mutilation and for promoting women’s sexual health and well-being. “There’s no shame to talk about that,” she said.

Close

The language of violation

Leidy Londono has worked in person, over the phone and via online chat to provide support and information to survivors of sexual assault.
Original artwork by Naomi Vona; photo © UNFPA/R. Zerzan.

In her years as a survivors’ advocate in the United States, Leidy Londono has grown accustomed to the language of shock, fear and shame that people use when grappling with the aftermath of sexual assault. And she has listened to people struggle to put into words one particular form of sexual violation, a phenomenon that is pervasive yet poorly understood, even by those who experience or perpetrate it: reproductive coercion.

“It involves behaviours that a partner or someone uses to maintain power and control in a relationship that are connected to reproductive health,” explained Londono, who has accompanied survivors to hospitals and provided hotline counselling. She now works as an educator and programme manager at Planned Parenthood in Washington, DC. “It can take a lot of different forms. There are explicit attempts to impregnate a partner against their own wishes. It could be about controlling the outcomes of a pregnancy, coercing a partner to have unprotected sex, interfering either explicitly or implicitly with birth control methods, or lying or deceit around birth control methods.”

Survivors lack a common language to describe the specific violation felt when they are denied ownership of their fertility or sexual health, whether or not they consented to a sexual encounter. Without the words to identify this experience, they often express confusion and self-recrimination. Londono recalled one young person who discovered that their partner had secretly removed a condom during consensual sex—a practice known as stealthing. “At first they were like, ‘Am I just exaggerating this?’”

The concept of reproductive coercion is relatively new, with most studies on the topic taking place in the last 20 years, often in the United States, where the prevalence of reproductive coercion is estimated at 15 to 25 per cent (Park and others, 2016). But recent inquiries show that it is widespread globally, perpetrated not only by partners but even by families and community members (Grace and Fleming, 2016). It may even be abetted by health systems, via policies that require husbands’ permission before a woman can use family planning, for example.

Dipika Paul has worked for decades as a researcher in sexual and reproductive health in Bangladesh, yet even she says she was not familiar with the term reproductive coercion. Rather, she and health workers and advocates spoke more generally about “barriers in family planning”.

Today, Paul is an expert in the topic. As an adviser at Ipas in Dhaka, she sees many forms of reproductive coercion. “With husbands... it can start with telling them, ‘do not use any contraception’, then women will follow their husband’s opinion. And it also ranges to severe violence. Sometimes husbands withhold food or money if she wants to continue using contraception,” Paul said. Often this pressure is related to “husbands’ or other family members’ desire for more children or desire for sons”. Forced use of contraception and forced abortion are also seen, she added.

These coercive acts are not widely regarded as forms of violence because reproduction may be seen as a family decision. “In-laws, they play a big role,” Paul said. This is particularly true for younger and underage wives; the median age of marriage is 16, according to a Demographic and Health Survey from 2018. “It is difficult for young women to take decisions alone.”

And yet there is a clear link between reproductive coercion and violence. Paul estimates that, in a study she is currently conducting, about three in five women who said they had experienced reproductive coercion also experienced sexual or physical violence from their husbands.

Jay Silverman, a professor at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine, began his career working with men and boys who had perpetrated intimate partner violence. He has since studied reproductive coercion in Bangladesh, India, Kenya, Niger and the United States. Even though reproductive coercion may sometimes be carried out by female family members, the violation is rooted in gender inequality, Silverman said.

“There’s a universal involved here,” he explained, “and it is male entitlement to control female partners… On some level, that sense that men do have, that entitlement to that control, is something that’s ubiquitous in, I think, most of our societies.”

Silverman and his colleagues, including Ipas in Bangladesh, are piloting tools to help health workers identify reproductive coercion, such as questions about partner attitudes and behaviour. Once coercion is acknowledged, women can reassert bodily autonomy by, for example, selecting family planning methods that are undetectable by a partner.

Even as women lack the language to describe reproductive coercion, Silverman explained, “I also believe human beings innately resist against being controlled… There are many different coping strategies that women in communities around the world have developed to cope with reproductive coercion, including women supporting women. That is something that is just happening organically, everywhere. It always has, whether it be a neighbour or female family member hiding your pills for you or helping you get to a clinic.” Where clinics give out pamphlets about reproductive coercion, partner violence and how to seek help, women often “take handfuls” so they can share the information with other women.

Much of the burden of addressing reproductive coercion falls to service providers, who often face a double bind: they must strike a balance between engaging men in reproductive health matters without ceding full decision-making power to them. “The ideal of male engagement in sexual and reproductive health and maternal and child health internationally has become a priority,” Silverman said. Male involvement has been associated with increased family planning and contraceptive use and improved maternal and child health outcomes (Kriel and others, 2019; Assaf and Davis, 2018). But when men wish to control the reproductive choices of their partner, “involving men is obviously detrimental”.

And men—indeed, people of all genders and sexual orientations—can also be victims of reproductive coercion. “Anyone can experience reproductive coercion,” said Londono. “Women in marginalized communities experience levels of violence at disproportionate rates, and that includes reproductive coercion… but that doesn’t negate the fact that I have talked to young boys and young men—men in general—who are trying to identify their own experiences and put it into words and contextualize it.”

Fluency in the language of reproductive coercion is needed, particularly among policymakers. “When our laws and our policies are vague and our language is ambiguous, it doesn’t provide for survivors,” Londono said.

And learning about bodily autonomy is also crucial. In one recent project, Paul said, “we talked to women, and they chose this terminology: ‘my body, my rights.’... They all agreed that we need to disseminate this among the population—that my body is mine.”

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X