SWOP Report 2021 - Measure

كيف يمكننا قياس الاستقلالية؟

Photo Photo Photo Icon

لا تتوفر لدينا معايير قياس مناسبة بعد، لكننا نعرف أن فقدان الاستقلالية الجسدية متفشٍّ في جميع أنحاء العالم.

شرع العالم في وضع معايير قياس. ووافق المجتمع الدولي على رصد مؤشرين - في إطار أهداف التنمية المستدامة - لقياس عملية صنع القرار والقوانين المتصلة بالرعاية والمعلومات المتعلقة بالصحة الإنجابية. بيْد أنّ هذا ليس سوى نقطة البداية.

يجب عليهم معرفة كيف تعمل أجسادهم.

فقط

55%

بإمكانهنّ

اتخاذ القرارات بأنفسهنّ

سلطة صنع القرار

يتناول مؤشر أهداف التنمية المستدامة 1-6-5 ثلاثة أسئلة تُطرَح على النساء:

  • من يتخذ القرارات المتعلقة بالرعاية الصحية لكنّ؟

  • من يتخذ القرار عادةً بشأن استخدامكن وسيلة من وسائل تنظيم الأسرة من عدمه؟

  • هل بوسعكن رفض زوجكنّ أو شريككنّ إذا لم تكن لديكنّ رغبة في العلاقة الحميمية؟

لا تُعد المرأة متمتعة بالاستقلالية في اتخاذ قرارات الصحة الإنجابية ومتمكنة من ممارسة حقوقها الإنجابية إلا حين تجيب عن الأسئلة الثلاثة بقدرتها على اتخاذ قراراتها بحرّية.

لا تتوفر هذه البيانات إلا في بلد واحد من بين كل أربعة بلدان، بيْد أنّها ترسم صورة مثيرة للقلق: 55 في المائة فقط من الفتيات والنساء قادرات على اتخاذ قراراتهن بأنفسهن بشأن الأبعاد الثلاثة كلها المتعلقة بالاستقلالية الجسدية.

القوانين المُمكِنة

يتناول مؤشر التنمية المستدامة 2-6-5 القوانين والأنظمة التي تضمن إتاحة السبل إلى خدمات الرعاية الصحية الجنسية والإنجابية للنساء والرجال إتاحةً تامّة ومتساوية وما يتصل بذلك من معلومات وتثقيف. ويسلط المؤشر الضوء على:

رعاية الأمومة

هناك ما يقرب من

71%

من البلدان

قوانين تضمن الوصول إلى "رعاية الأمومة" الشاملة*

  • رعاية الأمومة

  • السلع الأساسية اللازمة لإنقاذ الأرواح

  • إجهاض

  • رعاية ما بعد الإجهاض

من بين 79 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة*

وسائل تنظيم الأسرة

هناك ما يقرب من

75%

من البلدان

لديها قوانين لضمان الوصول الكامل والمتساوي لوسائل تنظيم الأسرة

  • تنظيم الأسرة

  • الموافقة على استخدام خدمات تنظيم الأسرة

  • الوسائل العاجلة لتنظيم الأسرة

من بين 104 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة؛ هناك حوالي*

التوعية والتربية الجنسية الشاملة

هناك ما يقرب من

56%

من البلدان

لديها قوانين وسياسات تدعم التربية الجنسية الشاملة

  • قانون التربية الجنسية الشاملة

  • المنهج الدراسي للتربية الجنسية الشاملة

من بين 98 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة؛ هناك حوالي*

الصحة والعافية الجنسيتان

هناك ما يقرب من

80%

من البلدان

لديها قوانين تدعم الصحة والرفاهية الجنسيتان

  • فحص فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية وتقديم المشورة

  • علاج فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ورعاية المصابين به

  • سرّية الحالة الصحية للرجال والنساء المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية

  • لقاح فيروس الورم الحلَيمي البشري

من بين 101 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة؛ هناك حوالي*

يقيس المؤشر ما إذا كان هناك قانون داعم وما إذا كانت هناك قيود مفروضة، مثل القيود المتعلقة بالسِنّ وشروط إذن الزوج.

هناك ما يقرب من

71%

من البلدان

قوانين تضمن الوصول إلى "رعاية الأمومة" الشاملة*

  • رعاية الأمومة

  • السلع الأساسية اللازمة لإنقاذ الأرواح

  • إجهاض

  • رعاية ما بعد الإجهاض

من بين 79 بلداً قدمت بيانات كاملة*

قياسات غير كافية

تتسم هذه القياسات بأهمية بالغة، بيْد أنّها لا تقدم سوى لمحة عن حق تقرير المصير الجسدي للأشخاص في جميع أنحاء العالم.

يحتوي المؤشر الأول 5-6-1 على بيانات من 57 بلداً فقط. طُرحت الأسئلة أيضاً على مجموعة فرعية من النساء فقط، مثل النساء اللاتي يعشن ضمن علاقات مساكنة أو ممن هنّ في سِنّ الإنجاب. لذا لا يمكن أن يقدم المؤشر صورة كاملة عن اتخاذ القرار الإنجابي لدى النساء.

يتسم المؤشر الثاني 5-6-2 بالمحدودية أيضاً. فوجود القوانين أو اللوائح لا يعني بالضرورة أن هذه القواعد يجري تنفيذها أو فرضها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يتطرق المؤشر إلى القوانين التي تنظم منظمة أمور أخرى هامّة - مثل الاغتصاب في إطار الزواج، وتقرير المصير بشأن الهوية الجنسية، وجراحات الأعضاء التناسلية بالنسبة إلى الأطفال حمَلة صفات الجنسين، والنشاط الجنسي للمثليين والمثليات.

وفضلاً عن ذلك، هناك كثير من القضايا المتعلقة بالاستقلالية الجسدية التي لا تزال مثار جدلٍ شديد، والتي لم تحسمها اتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي، مثل الاشتغال الطوعي بالجنس والحمل لفائدة الغير والإجهاض. ولأنّ كثيراً من هذه القضايا تُعالج على نحو مستتر، فإنها غالباً ما تكون غير مفهومة بالمستوى الكافي من قبل الباحثين والمشرّعين على حد سواء.

تحقيقات صحفية

  1. Thumbnail Hülya Özdemir
  2. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  3. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  4. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  5. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  6. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  7. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
Close

جسدك: دليل المالك

اعتادت أولغا لورينسو على مواجهة معارضة عند تقديم خدمات التربية الجنسية الشاملة، ولكنها لم تتراجع.
العمل الفني الأصلي بواسطة نعومي فونا؛ الصورة © صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان/سي. سيزار

يكاد لا يعترض أيّ من الآباء أو قادة مجتمع على جلب تلميذٍ ما لكتاب كيمياء أو تفاضل وتكامل مدرسي إلى بيته. غير أنّ دروس التربية الجنسية الشاملة تُعدّ محظورةً على نطاق واسع، ويُقصد بالتربية هنا التوعية الدقيقة بمعلومات مناسبة عُمرياً حول جسد الفرد والصحة الجنسية والإنجابية وحقوق الإنسان. وكثيرٌ من المدارس لا تدرّس مادة التربية تلك، ولا تقدم سوى معلومات منقوصة؛ وهو ما يترك التلاميذ في حال استعدادٍ ضعيف للتغييرات التي تمر بها أجسادهم، وإعدادٍ ضعيف لحماية أنفسهم من الضرر على حد سواء.

وعن ذلك تقول أولغا لورينسو، التي تعمل منسِّقة لمشروع مركز دعم الشباب (المدعوم من صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان ويُعنى بتعزيز مهارات الحياة والتربية الجنسية الشاملة للشباب في أنغولا): "نحن في كفاح مستمر لإدراج هذا الموضوع في مناهج الدراسة، فلا شيء تقريباً يقال عن التربية الجنسية الشاملة ولا عن الصحة الإنجابية بسبب اعتبارات العيب والأحكام المسبقة."

يجادل معارضو التربية الجنسية الشاملة في الغالب بأن تلك التربية تروّج للنشاط الجنسي، لكن الدراسات تؤكد أن هذا الطرح غير صحيح؛ بل إن الأدلة تشير إلى أن هذه التربية - حال تقديمها وفق المعايير الدولية - تحسّن معارف الشباب وتشكّل استراتيجية حاسمة ومناسبة التكلفة للوقاية من الحمل غير المقصود والعدوى المنقولة جنسياً، بما في ذلك فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية. كما تفيد بعض الدراسات بأن تلك التربية تساهم عملياً في تأخير الممارسة الحميمية الأولى عند المراهقين (اليونيسكو، 2016).

وأوضحت المنسقة لورينسو أنها افتقرت إلى التوعية الدقيقة في هذا المجال وهي مراهقة، فاستشعرت ضغوطاً تجاه الدخول في علاقات حميمية قبل أن تستعد، أي وهي في سن 15. وعن ذلك قالت: "كان لصديقاتي أصدقاء، وكانت لهن حياة جنسية نشطة. وكنّ يسخرن مني لكوني "عذراء. أثّر ذلك فيّ نفسياً... وأظن أنه نال من استقلاليتي الجسدية بشكل أو بآخر."

ديبيكا بول باحثة خبيرة في مجال الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية، ومستشارة لدى مؤسسة "إيباس" في دكا، بنغلادِش، رأت بعينيها عواقب ضعف إتاحة التربية الجنسية في مجتمعها، فتقول: "عندما كنت تلميذة في الصف السابع، كان لدينا فصل وحيد عن الحيض. ولم تكن المعلمة مرتاحة وهي تشرح هذا الفصل لنا."

إن انعدام التربية الجنسية الشاملة يجعل الشباب يقعون ضحية أباطيل ومعلومات مغلوطة، علماً بأن الفتيان والرجال بصفة خاصة "لديهم فجوات معرفية ومفاهيم مغلوطة" في هذا الصدد كما ترى ديبيكا بول، موضحة أنها رأت رجالاً يمنعون زوجاتهم من استخدام وسائل تنظيم الأسرة لاعتقادهم أن "العواقم [أي الوسيلة الرحمية المانعة للحمل] تنتشر في الجسم كله... فيظنون أنهم سيشعرون بالألم بسبب العاقم. وهذا غير صحيح."

إنّ التلاميذ الذين يتلقّون تربية جنسية شاملة لا يتمكنون فقط من اتخاذ خيارات جنسية صحية فحسب، بل يصبحون أفضل استعداداً للبحث عن المساعدة عند الحاجة. لذا تقول لورينسو: "المعلومات التي أشارك بها كفيلة بإحداث تغيير كبير في حياة الإنسان."

تتذكر الباحثة فتاةً كشفت في أثناء تلقيها تربية جنسية من خلال برنامج إرشادي عن إصابتها بجرح مزمن في صدرها – معتبرة ذلك مبعث خجل، لكنه ليس بأمر طارئ. وتورد الباحثة قصة شابة أفصحت عن إقامتها مع خال أساء لها جنسياً، فتصف الباحثة الواقعة قائلة: "حبست الفتاة نفسها وما عادت تتكلم مع أحد خشية الطرد من البيت وانتهاء الحال بها إلى الشارع." أمكن للمرشدين تخصيص خدمات لكلا الفتاتين، لكن لورينسو مهتمة بما كان ليحدث، فتقول: "أي مصير كانت الفتاتان لتلقياه لو لم نتدخل؟"

ويمكن للتربية الجنسية الشاملة أن تنهض بدور في منع العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي، فتدريسها وفق المعايير الدولية يعني أن تتضمن الدروس رسائل عن حقوق الإنسان والمساواة بين الجنسين والعلاقات المحترمة (اليونسكو وآخرون، 2018). من هنا تتزايد دعوات الخبراء إلى هذا اللون من التربية بُغْيَة تأطير الوقاية من العنف بوصفها مسؤولية مقترفيها، لا مسؤولية ضحايا العنف ولا الناجيات منه (شنايدر وهيرش، 2020).

لذا ترى لورينسو أن "التلاميذ والتلميذات يتعيّن عليهم معرفة حقوقهم وواجباتهم في المجتمع أولاً،" موضحة أن هذا هو الأساس الذي تركن إليه في التربية الجنسية الشاملة. وتضيف قائلة: "بعدها يتعيّن عليهم معرفة وظائف أجسامهم حتى يتسنى لهم اتخاذ قرارات مفيدة لهم، لا أن يتركوا غيرهم ليقرر لهم."

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X

SWOP Report 2021 - Measure

How do we measure bodily autonomy?

Photo Photo Photo Icon

We don't yet have good measurements, but we know that loss of bodily autonomy is rampant around the world.

The world is beginning to create measurements. The international community has agreed to monitor two indicators—part of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)—measuring decision-making and laws on reproductive health care and information. But even these are just a starting point.

They need to know how their bodies work.

Only

55%

of women

are able to make their own decisions

Decision-making power

SDG Indicator 5.6.1 looks at three questions posed to women:

  • Who usually makes decisions about health care for yourself?

  • Who usually makes the decision on whether or not you should use contraception?

  • Can you say no to your husband or partner if you do not want to have sexual intercourse?

Only women who make their own decisions in all three of these areas are considered to have autonomy in reproductive health decision-making and to be empowered to exercise their reproductive rights.

These data are only available in about one in four countries, but they paint an alarming picture: only 55 per cent of girls and women are able to make their own decisions in all three dimensions of bodily autonomy.

Laws that empower

SDG Indicator 5.6.2 looks at laws and regulations that guarantee full and equal access to women and men to sexual and reproductive health care, information and education. It covers:

Maternity care

About

71%

of countries

have laws guaranteeing access to overall "maternity care"*

  • Maternity care

  • Life-saving commodities

  • Abortion

  • Post-abortion care

*Out of 79 countries reporting complete data

Contraception and family planning

About

75%

of countries

have laws to ensure full, equal access to contraception*

  • Contraception

  • Consent for contraceptive services

  • Emergency contraception

*Out of 104 countries reporting complete data

Comprehensive sexuality education and information

About

56%

of countries

have laws and policies supporting comprehensive sexuality education*

  • Comprehensive sexuality education law

  • Comprehensive sexuality education curriculum

*Out of 98 countries reporting complete data

Sexual health and well-being

About

80%

of countries

have laws supporting sexual health and well-being*

  • HIV testing and counselling

  • HIV treatment and care

  • Confidentiality of health status for men and women living with HIV

  • HPV vaccine

*Out of 101 countries reporting complete data

The indicator measures whether a supportive law exists and whether there are restrictions, such as age limitations or spousal permission requirements.

About

71%

of countries

have laws guaranteeing access to overall "maternity care"*

  • Maternity care

  • Life-saving commodities

  • Abortion

  • Post-abortion care

*Out of 79 countries reporting complete data

Not enough measured

These measurements are critical, but they offer only a glimpse into the bodily self-determination of people around the world.

The first indicator, 5.6.1, has data from only 57 countries. The questions, too, were asked of only a subset of women, such as those in cohabiting relationships or those of reproductive age. Therefore, it cannot provide a complete picture of women’s reproductive decision-making.

The second indicator, 5.6.2, is also limited. The presence of laws or regulations does not always mean those rules are implemented or enforced. Additionally, the indicator does not cover laws governing other important matters, such as rape within marriage, self-determination in gender identity, genital surgeries in the case of intersex infants and same-sex sexual activity.

In addition, there are many bodily autonomy issues that remain hotly contested, which are unresolved by human rights agreements and international law, such as voluntary sex work, surrogacy and abortion. Because these issues are frequently driven underground, they are often poorly understood by researchers and lawmakers alike.

Artwork

  1. Thumbnail Hülya Özdemir
  2. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  3. Thumbnail Rebeka Artim
  4. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  5. Thumbnail Tyler Spangler
  6. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
  7. Thumbnail Kaisei Nanke
Close

Your body: an owner’s manual

Olga Lourenço is used to facing resistance when providing comprehensive sexuality education, but she is undeterred.
Original artwork by Naomi Vona; photo © UNFPA/C. Cesar.

Few parents or community leaders object when a student brings home a chemistry or calculus textbook. Yet lessons in comprehensive sexuality education—accurate, age-appropriate information about one’s own body, sexual and reproductive health, and human rights—are widely considered taboo. Many schools do not teach the subject, or provide only incomplete information. This leaves students both ill-prepared for the changes their bodies are undergoing and ill-equipped to protect themselves from harm.

“We are in a constant struggle to include this topic in the school curriculum,” said Olga Lourenço, a coordinator for Project CAJ, a UNFPA-supported programme providing life skills and comprehensive sexuality education to youth in Angola. “Almost nothing is said about comprehensive sexual and reproductive health because of our taboos and prejudices.”

Opponents of comprehensive sexuality education often contend that it promotes sexual activity, yet studies show that this is incorrect. Rather, evidence indicates that this education, when provided to international standards, improves young people’s knowledge and constitutes a crucial and cost-effective strategy for preventing unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections, including HIV. Some studies show it may actually help delay adolescents’ sexual debut (UNESCO, 2016).

Lourenço explained that, because she lacked accurate information at a young age, she actually felt pressured to engage in sexual relationships before she was ready, at age 15. “My friends already had their boyfriends. They already had sexually active lives. They made fun of me for being the ‘virgin of the group’,” she said. “In a way, this psychologically affected me... I think that, in a way, it violated my bodily autonomy.”

Dipika Paul, a longtime sexual and reproductive health researcher and an adviser at Ipas in Dhaka, Bangladesh, has seen the consequences of poor access to sexuality education in her own community. “When I was a student, I was in class seven, and there was just one chapter—on menstruation,” she recalled. “The teacher also did not feel comfortable teaching that section to us.”

Without comprehensive sexuality education, young people are vulnerable to myths and misinformation. Boys and men, in particular, “have knowledge gaps, they have misconceptions,” Paul said, explaining that she has seen men forbid their wives from using contraception because of the belief that “an IUD travels anywhere around in the body… they think they can feel pain from an IUD. This is not true.”

Students who receive comprehensive sexuality education are not only empowered to make healthier sexual choices, but they are also better equipped to seek help when needed. “The information I share can significantly change a person’s life,” said Lourenço.

She recalled one girl who, while receiving sexuality education through a mentorship programme, revealed she had a chronic wound on her breast—something she regarded as an embarrassment but not an emergency. Another young woman disclosed that she was living with an uncle who had sexually abused her. “The girl locked herself up and couldn’t speak with anyone for fear of being expelled from the home and ending up on the street,” Lourenço described. Mentors were able to secure services for both girls, but Lourenço is haunted by what might have been: “If we did not intervene, what would become of these girls?”

Comprehensive sexuality education can also play a role in preventing gender-based violence. When taught to international standards, the lessons include messages about human rights, gender equality and respectful relationships (UNESCO and others, 2018). And experts are increasingly calling for this information to frame violence prevention as the responsibility of potential perpetrators, rather than the responsibility of victims and survivors (Schneider and Hirsch, 2020).

“They need to know what their rights and duties are in a society first,” Lourenço said, explaining that this is the foundation of comprehensive sexuality education as she teaches it. “Then they need to know how their bodies work so that they can make decisions for themselves and not let others make decisions for them.”

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X