Isha Sesay

Isha Sesay
Photo credit: Cathrine White

Journaliste primée et autrice, Isha Sesay est une fervente défenseure des femmes et des filles du monde entier. Elle a consacré sa vie et sa carrière à défendre leurs droits. Elle est fermement convaincue que l’accès universel à des services de santé procréative et la possibilité de vivre sans violence basée sur le genre ni pratique néfaste (comme les mutilations génitales ou le mariage d’enfants) sont des droits de la personne fondamentaux et non-négociables. 

Depuis plus de dix ans, elle est présentatrice et correspondante pour CNN, et a dévoilé en 2014 l’enlèvement de 276 filles dans leur école de Chibok (Nigeria). Elle était la seule journaliste présente sur le terrain pour accompagner le retour de 21 de ces filles chez elles en 2016. Son reportage a été à l’origine du mouvement #BringBackOurGirls. 

Dans le pays natal de sa famille, la Sierra Leone, Isha a fondé et dirige W.E (Women Everywhere) Can Lead, une ONG qui œuvre pour l’autonomisation, l’éducation et le soutien des adolescentes pour les aider à réaliser leur potentiel.

À maintes reprises, nous avons constaté que lorsque les nations connaissent une crise (qu’elle soit d’origine humaine ou non), les femmes et les filles deviennent la cible de violences.

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X

Isha Sesay

Isha Sesay
Photo credit: Cathrine White

Award-winning journalist and author Isha Sesay is a fervent advocate for women and girls everywhere. She has dedicated her life and career to upholding the rights of women and girls. She believes that universal access to reproductive health care services and living free of gender-based violence and harmful practices (like female genital mutilation and child marriage) are non-negotiable human rights. 

As an anchor and correspondent at CNN for more than a decade, she broke the story of the abduction of 276 girls from their school in Chibok, Nigeria in 2014. She was the only journalist on the ground to accompany 21 of the girls back home in 2016. Her reporting was the driving force behind the global #BringBackOurGirls movement. 

In her family’s home country of Sierra Leone, Isha is the founder and head of W.E (Women Everywhere) Can Lead, an NGO that works to empower, educate, and support adolescent girls in fulfilling their full potential. 

Time and time again, we have seen that as nations descended into crisis – man-made or otherwise – women and girls became targets for violence.

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookies policy.

X