United Nations Population Award

United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon with the 2013 UN Population Award laureate. See below for updates on the UN Population Award.
Each year, the Committee for the United Nations Population Award honours an individual and/or institution in recognition of outstanding contributions to population and reproductive health questions and to their solutions. The Award was established by the General Assembly in 1981, in resolution 36/201, and was first presented in 1983. It consists of a gold medal, a diploma and a monetary prize.
The Committee for the United Nations Population Award is comprised of 10 UN Member States, with United Nations Secretary-General and UNFPA Executive Director serving as ex-officio members. Nominations for the award are accepted through 31 December of each year.

Press releases

Related News

UNITED NATIONS, New York—The 2011 Population Award was presented last week to Professor Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavazi,...
23 June 2011
UNITED NATIONS, New York — The 2010 United Nations Population Award was presented today by Deputy Secretary-General...
3 June 2010
UNITED NATIONS — Each year the United Nations Population Award recognizes the work of an individual and an institution...
2 June 2009


Related Resources