UNFPA is working priority countries to accelerate access to sexual and reproductive health and reproductive rights.

Everyone, everywhere benefits when women are empowered for better health and educational, economic and civic opportunities. UNFPA works in over 150 countries and territories that are home to the vast majority of the world’s people, prioritising the countries furthest from achieving the three transformative results.

The new country classification system

The 119 programme countries are classified into three tiers based on indicators:

  • need for family planning satisfied with modern methods
  • maternal mortality ratio
  • gender inequality index
Tier I: These 56 programme countries strive to meet all three of the indicator thresholds and include countries that are least developed, landlocked or in humanitarian and post-humanitarian settings.
Tier II: Only one of the three indicator thresholds have been met by these 31 programme countries regarding family planning, maternal health or gender equality.
Tier III: At least two of the three indicator thresholds have been met by these 32 programme countries. More tailored interventions to advance ICPD goals will accelerate progress.

Note: The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the United Nations. A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

Two multi-country programmes cover 36 small island developing States in the Pacific and 23 in the Caribbean.

The new resource allocation system

UNFPA takes a new “three-dimensions, two-adjustments and one-floor” approach.

The total regular resources a country receives depends on three key dimensions, adjusted for population size and income, and builds on an equal floor amount of $500,000 per country programme. The three dimensions are (1) the distance from achieving the three transformative results, (2) health inequality and (3) vulnerability. The two adjustments reflect population size and people’s living standards. And the uniform floor per country programme provides the minimum essential support.

We use cookies and other identifiers to help improve your online experience. By using our website you agree to this. To learn more, including how to change your settings, see our cookie policy