يرجى تفعيل الصوت من أجل تجربة أكثر عمقاً وتأثيراً.
cursor gradient

اليمن

*خضع الاسم للتغيير لغرض الحماية والخصوصية.

استُخدم التصوير الفوتوغرافي لأغراض تمثيلية فقط ولا يكشف عن موضوع القصة

اليمن
© Bacila Vlad

⁩هربتُ أنا وعائلتي من منزلنا في محافظة أخرى بسبب القتال والقصف العنيف في جوارنا، ونحن نعيش في منزل صغير مستأجر. كان والدي يعاني من مرض مزمن جعله غير قادر على العمل، وأصبحت معيلة أسرتي. كنت أعمل في متجر غير أن مبلغ 1500 ريال يمني [حوالي 1.50 دولار] الذي كنت أجنيه كل يوم لم يكن يغطي نفقات معيشتنا، وغالباً ما كنا نأكل وجبة واحدة فقط في اليوم. بعد انتشار فيروس كورونا، أُغلقت شركات كثيرة بسبب الحجر الصحي، بما في ذلك المتجر الذي كنت أعمل فيه، عندما أصيب والدي بفيروس كوفيد-19، ساءت حالته بسرعة وتوفي بعد ذلك بوقت قصير.

حاولت جاهدةً أن أجد مزيداً من العمل، ولكنّ ذلك كان صعباً. وفي نهاية العام الماضي، بينما كنت أتصفح شبكة الإنترنت على هاتفي المحمول، التقيتُ بشخصٍ ادّعى أنه صاحب مكتب توظيف، ووعدني أنه سيجد لي وظيفة في شركة جيدة.

”فكرت في الانتحار حتى لا تُدمر سمعتي وسمعة عائلتي.“

بدأتُ أشعر بمشاعر تجاهه. طلب مني إرسال صور وفيديوهات لي من دون حجاب أو عباءة، وهو ما فعلته لأنني وثقت به. أخبرني أنه يريد تقديمي إلى مدير الشركة ثم طلب مني الخروج معه لمقابلة العمل، في تلك اللحظة، قررتُ عدم الالتقاء به أو التحدث إليه مرة أخرى، إلا أنه بدأ يهدد بنشر مقاطع الفيديو على الإنترنت.

ترتدي النساء هنا العباءة عند الخروج أو التعامل مع الجنس الآخر، لذا فأنْ يراني الناس غير محتشمة في عُرفنا من شأنه أن يضر بسمعتي وسمعة عائلتي، وسيعتقد الآخرون أنني كنت على علاقة به، وهو ما سيكون فضيحة وعاراً - وعلى الأرجح أنني سأدمر فرصي في الزواج.

الابتزاز الجنسي

تمرير إلى الأسفل
محتوى حسّاس

تحتوي هذه الصورة على محتوى حساس قد يجده بعض الأشخاص مهيناً أو مزعجاً

محتوى حسّاس

تحتوي هذه الصورة على محتوى حساس قد يجده بعض الأشخاص مهيناً أو مزعجاً

محتوى حسّاس

تحتوي هذه الصورة على محتوى حساس قد يجده بعض الأشخاص مهيناً أو مزعجاً

محتوى حسّاس

تحتوي هذه الصورة على محتوى حساس قد يجده بعض الأشخاص مهيناً أو مزعجاً

الابتزاز الجنسي

نوع من أنواع الابتزاز الإلكتروني، أو طلب المال، أو الجنس/الممارسات الجنسية، أو الصور الصريحة الإضافية مقابل عدم كشف الصور الحميمة أو المعلومات الخاصة.

UNFPA Yemen
© UNFPA Yemen

بدأ الرجل في ابتزازي، بأنه إذا لم أخرج معه ومع أصدقائه، وما لم أستسلم لرغباته، سينشر صوري ومقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بي عبر شبكة الإنترنت. في اليمن، يُعد الجنس قبل الزواج من المحرّمات. لقد عشت في خوف وصدمة شديدين لمدة ثلاثة أشهر. فلو علمت عائلتي، فسوف تقتلني. لم أكن أعرف ما يمكنني فعله، ولم أكن أعتقد أنني سأجد مهرباً بل فكرت في الانتحار حتى لا تُدمر سمعتي وسمعة عائلتي.

ذات يوم رأيت منشوراً على فيسبوك عن الاستشارات النفسية والقانونية التي يقدمها اتحاد نساء اليمن [بدعم من صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان]، واتصلتُ على الفور وشرحتُ كل شيء لمستشار قانوني. تلقيتُ أيضاً دعماً نفسياً اجتماعياً، أولاً عبر الهاتف ثم شخصياً في مساحة آمنة للنساء والفتيات حتى أتمكن من مقابلة محام.

تمكن المحامي الخاص بي من التعرف على الرجل من خلال تتبع رقم هاتفه، وعندما ذهبتُ إلى مركز الشرطة للإبلاغ عنه، اكتشفتُ أنه كان يفعل ذلك بنساء أخريات. لقد اعتُقل وسُجن لمدة أسبوع، وصودر هاتفه وأُتلفت جميع الصور ومقاطع الفيديو، ولن يفعل ما فعل ثانيةً مع أي أحد وسيخضع للمراقبة من قبل مكتب التحقيقات الجنائية.

بعد انتهاء قضيتي، واصلتُ ارتياد المساحة الآمنة، حيث تلقيت دورات في المهارات الحياتية وتعلمت الخياطة. وبعد تلقي منحة التمكين الاقتصادي من المساحة الآمنة، بدأتُ في تصميم الفساتين وخياطة كمامات للمساعدة في التصدي للجائحة.

أنا الآن أكثر حرصاً على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - فليس الجميع هناك لتقديم مساعدةٍ مجاناً. فلكلّ شيء ثمنُه.

في دراسة استقصائية للنساء

في تسعة بلدان

ضمن الدول العربية، كان التحرش عبر الإنترنت هو أكثر أنواع العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي الذي أُبلغ عنه في الأشهر الأولى من جائحة كوفيد-19.
- هيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة
شاهد القصة التالية
Woman Woman

امتلكوا صور أجسادكم على الإنترنت

Bodyright

تُعلن حملة bodyright التابعة لصندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان أنّ النساء والفتيات يمتلكن أجسادهنّ وصور أجسادهنّ، ويحق لهنّ أن يقرّرن ما إذا كنّ يرغبن في مشاركة هذه الصور وتحديد كيفية مشاركتها. تفضّلوا بالاطلاع على مزيدٍ من المعلومات عن حملة bodyright وارفعوا الوعي حول العنف الرقمي.

تعرفوا على حقوق أجسادكم تعرفوا على حقوق أجسادكم
اتخاذ إجراءات إضافية لإنهاء العنف الرقمي عبر شبكة الإنترنت

ما الذي يمكنني فعله غير ذلك؟

بالنسبة إلى شركات التكنولوجيا

اعملوا بشكل أفضل اعملوا بشكل أفضل

بالنسبة إلى المُشّرِعين والمشرفين على إنفاذ القانون

افعلوا الصواب افعلوا الصواب
Close BodyRight
BodyRight

هل نحن في حاجة إلى علامة تتعلق بحق النشر لأجساد
الأفراد؟ ارفعوا الوعي بشأن العنف

تعرفوا على حقوق أجسادكم
أوقفوا العنف الرقمي

اتخذوا إجراءاً

إن وجود عالم افتراضي خالٍ من العنف أمر ممكن. ويدعو صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان، وهو وكالة الأمم المتحدة للصحة والحقوق الجنسية والإنجابية، النساء والفتيات في جميع المساحات، بما في ذلك عبر شبكة الإنترنت، إلى العيش دون خوف من العنف أو الإساءة القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي. ويضطلع الجميع بدورٍ في جعل هذا الأمر أكثر من مجرد أمل، بل حقيقة

امتلكوا صور أجسادكم على الإنترنت
Woman Woman
Bodyright

تعلن حملة صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان bodyright أن النساء والفتيات يمتلكن أجسادهن وصور أجسادهن وأن مشاركتها بأي شكل من الأشكال دون موافقتهن يعد انتهاكاً لحقوق الإنسان والخصوصية والكرامة والاستقلالية الجسدية.

يرجى توقيع عريضة صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان وGlobal Citizen bodyright التي تدعو شركات التكنولوجيا والمحتوى إلى منح أجساد النساء والفتيات نفس الحماية والاحترام باعتبارها كياناً قانونياً محمياً بحقوق الطبع والنشر. يرجى مشاركة الرمز bodyright لإظهار دعمكم للحقوق غير القابلة للتصرف للنساء والفتيات.

تعرفوا على حقوق أجسادكم تعرفوا على حقوق أجسادكم
اتخاذ إجراءات إضافية لإنهاء العنف الرقمي عبر شبكة الإنترنت

ما الذي يمكنني فعله غير ذلك؟

بالنسبة إلى الجميع:

ابذلوا المزيد من الجهد

أي شخص يشارك صوراً حميمة لفتاة بدون موافقتها - حتى لو لم يكن المُشارِك هو الجاني الأصلي - فإنَّه يرتكب العنف ضد المرأة. كونوا أول من يبدأ المقاطعة. هل ترون أشخاصاً يهاجمون شخصاً ما أو يتنمّرون عليه أو يهددونه على الإنترنت؟ لا تنضموا إليهم. انشروا رسائل إيجابية لمواجهة الرسائل السلبية. أبلِغوا عن الإساءة إلى منصة التكنولوجيا. قالت إحدى الناجيات من الهجوم السيبراني إنِّها شعرت بالاهتمام والدعم من الأشخاص الذين دافعوا عنها.

بالنسبة إلى شركات التكنولوجيا:

اعملوا بشكل أفضل

انضمّ صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان إلى مؤسسة الشبكة العالمية في دعوتها لفيسبوك وجوجل وتيك توك وتويتر لمنح الأولوية لسلامة المرأة على الإنترنت، وحمل هذه المنصات على الوفاء بالتعهدات التي قطعتها على نفسها في منتدى جيل المساواة لعام 2021 في باريس. لكن تتوفّر الكثير من المنصات الأخرى. فعلى حد تعبير منظمة «ثورن»، التي تعمل على إنهاء الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال عبر الإنترنت، "لن نحقّق هدف بناء إنترنت آمن حتى تعتمد كل منصة تحتوي على زر تحميل تدابير استباقية للرصد."

بالنسبة إلى المُشّرِعين والمشرفين على إنفاذ القانون:

افعلوا الصواب

وفقاً لوحدة الاستخبارات الاقتصادية، "في 64 بلداً من بين 86 بلداً، يبدو أن وكالات إنفاذ القانون والمحاكم لا تتخذ الإجراءات التصحيحية المناسبة للتصدي للعنف ضد المرأة على الإنترنت". ويتعين أن يعترف المُشّرعون بالطابع المتفشي والسائد للعنف وأن يدعموا الاستجابات التشريعية والتنظيمية التي تُلبي احتياجات النساء والفتيات، بما في ذلك إنشاء هيئات مستقلة للرصد والتنظيم وتوفير الموارد لها. فعلى سبيل المثال، يُعَد مكتب مفوض السلامة الإلكترونية في أستراليا بمثابة نموذج لبلدان مثل كندا والمملكة المتحدة في معالجة مسألة السلامة على الإنترنت. وينبغي ألا يكون السعي إلى تحقيق العدالة تجربة صادمة أخرى.

Yemen

Name and identifying details have been changed for privacy and protection.

Photography used for representational purposes only and the does not depict the story’s subject

Yemen
© Bacila Vlad

My family and I fled from our home in a different governorate because of fighting and heavy shelling nearby. We are living in a small rented house.

My father suffered from a chronic disease that made him unable to work, and I became the breadwinner of my family. I worked at a store but the 1,500 Yemeni rials [about $1.50] I made each day didn’t cover our living expenses. We often ate only one meal a day. After the spread of the coronavirus, many businesses closed due to the quarantine, including the store where I worked. When my father was infected with COVID-19, his condition worsened quickly and he died soon afterward.

I tried very hard to find more work, but it was difficult. At the end of last year, when I was surfing the Internet on my mobile, I met someone who claimed to be an owner of a recruitment office. He promised that he would find a job at a good company for me.

I thought of suicide so my reputation and that of my family would not be ruined.

I started having feelings for him. He asked me to send him photos and videos of me not wearing a veil or abaya, which I did because I trusted him. He told me that he wanted to introduce me to the company’s manager and then asked me to go out with him for the job interview. It was then when I decided not to meet him or talk to him again, but he started threatening to publish the videos online.

Women here are covered in an abaya when going outside or engaging with the opposite sex, so to be seen dressed in a culturally inappropriate way would damage my reputation and that of my family. Others would think I was having an affair with him, which would be a scandal and a disgrace – I most likely would ruin my chances at ever getting married.

SEXTORTION

Scroll down
Sensitive Content

This photo contains sensitive content which some people may find offensive or disturbing

Sensitive Content

This photo contains sensitive content which some people may find offensive or disturbing

Sensitive Content

This photo contains sensitive content which some people may find offensive or disturbing

Sensitive Content

This photo contains sensitive content which some people may find offensive or disturbing

Sextortion

A type of electronic blackmail, the demand for money, sex/sex acts, or additional explicit images in exchange for not exposing intimate images or private information.

UNFPA Yemen
© UNFPA Yemen

The man started blackmailing me. If I didn’t go out with him and his friends, if I didn’t give into his desires, he would post my photos and videos online. In Yemen, sex before wedlock is taboo. For three months, I lived in extreme fear and shock. If my family knew, they would kill me. I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t think I would find an escape and even thought of suicide so my reputation and that of my family would not be ruined.

One day I happened to see a Facebook post on psychological and legal counselling offered by the Yemeni Women Union [supported by UNFPA]. I immediately called and explained everything to a legal counsellor. I also received psychosocial support, first by phone then in person at a women’s and girls’ safe space so that I could meet with a lawyer.

My lawyer was able to identify the man by tracing his phone number. When I went to the police station to report him, I found out he had been doing this to other women. He was arrested, imprisoned for a week. His phone was taken and all photos and videos were destroyed. He is to never do this again to anyone and is being watched by the criminal investigation office.

After my case was over, I continued going to the safe space, where I took life skills courses and learned to sew. After receiving an economic empowerment grant from the safe space, I started a tailoring business designing dresses and sewing face masks to help with the pandemic.

I am more careful now on social media – not everyone is on there to help for free. There is a cost for everything.

9 countries

In a survey of women in nine countries in the Arab States, online harassment was the highest-ranked type of gender-based violence reported in the earliest months of the COVID-19 pandemic.

– UN Women

View the next story

WHAT CAN I DO?

For everybody

do more

For technology companies

do better

For lawmakers and law enforcement

do right
Disrupt digital violence

Take Action

A virtual world free of violence is possible. UNFPA, the United Nations sexual and reproductive health agency, supports the right of all women and girls to live without fear of gender-based violence or abuse in all spaces, including online. Everyone plays a role in making this more than a hope but a reality.

WHAT CAN I DO?

For everybody:

DO more

Anyone who shares another’s intimate images without her consent – even if a sharer is not the original perpetrator – is committing violence against women. Let the disruption start with you. See people attacking, bullying or threatening someone online? Don’t join in. Post positive messages to counter the negative. Report the abuse to the technology platform. One cybermob attack survivor said she felt seen and supported by people who defended her.

For technology companies:

DO better

UNFPA joined the World Wide Web Foundation in its call to Facebook, Google, TikTok and Twitter to prioritize the safety of women online, holding them to the pledges made to do so during the 2021 Generation Equality Forum in Paris. But there are many more platforms. In the words of Thorn, which works to end online child sexual abuse, “We won’t achieve the goal of building an Internet that is safe until every platform with an upload button has adopted proactive detection measures.”

For lawmakers and law enforcement:

DO RIGHT

According to the Economist Intelligence Unit, “In 64 of 86 countries, law enforcement agencies and courts appear to be failing to take appropriate  corrective actions to address online violence against women.” Lawmakers need to recognize the pervasive and prevalent nature of the violence and support legislative and regulatory responses that meet the needs of women and girls, including creation and resourcing of independent monitoring and regulatory bodies. For example, Australia’s Office of the E-Safety Commissioner is serving as a model for countries such as Canada and the United Kingdom in addressing online safety. Seeking justice should not have to be another traumatizing experience.