Media Advisory

United Nations Population Award Ceremony to Honour Iranian Demographer, African Research Institution

13 June 2011
Author: UNFPA

UNITED NATIONS, New York — Winners of the 2011 United Nations Population Award will receive their awards this week during an official ceremony at the organization’s headquarters. The laureates were chosen by the Committee for the United Nations Population Award for their work in population and in improving the health and welfare of individuals. The Committee is made of 10 United Nations Member States and others, with UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund, serving as its secretariat.


The 2011 Laureates:

Professor Mohammad Jalal Abbasi-Shavazi, Chairman, Division of Population Research, University of Tehran; Future Fellow, Australian Demographic and Social Research Institute.
L’Institut de Formation et de Recherche Démographiques (IFORD) (represented by Professor Evina Akam, interim IFORD Executive Director.)


H.E. Mr.Maged A. Abdelaziz, Permanent Representative of the Arab Republic of Egypt to the United Nations; Chairperson, Committee for the Unite Nations Population Award
Asha-Rose Migiro, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations
Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin, Executive Director of UNFPA

WHERE : Economic and Social Council Chamber, United Nations, New York.

WHEN : 5-6 p.m., Thursday, 16 June

Journalists are welcome to the award ceremony and the following reception.

For more information, or to arrange interviews with the laureates, please contact:

Omar Gharzeddine
Tel.: +1 (212) 297 5028