Notes for Indicators


The designations employed in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion on the part of the United Nations Population Fund concerning the legal status of any country, territory or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.


Data for small countries or areas, generally those with population of 200,000 or less in 1990, are not given in this table separately. They have been included in their regional population figures.


(*)        More-developed regions comprise North America, Japan, Europe and Australia-New Zealand.


(+)       Less-developed regions comprise all regions of Africa, Latin America and Caribbean, Asia (excluding Japan), and Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.


(‡)        Least-developed countries according to standard United Nations designation.


(1)        Including British Indian Ocean Territory and Seychelles.


(2)        Including Agalesa, Rodrigues and St. Brandon.


(3)        Including Sao Tome and Principe.


(4)        Formerly Zaire.


(5)        Including Western Sahara.


(6)               Including St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.


(7)               Including Macau.


(8)               On 1 July 1997, Hong Kong became a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China.


(9)        This entry is included in the more developed regions aggregate but not in the estimate for the geographical region.


(10)      Turkey is included in Western Asia for geographical reasons. Other classifications include this country in Europe.


(11)      Comprising Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Mauritania, Morocco, Occupied Palestinian Territory, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.  Regional aggregation for demographic indicators provided by the UN Population Division. Aggregations for other indicators are weighted averages based on countries with available data.

(12)      Including Channel Islands, Faeroe Islands and Isle of Man.


(13)      Including Andorra, Gibraltar, Holy See and San Marino.


(14)      Including Leichtenstein and Monaco.


(15)      Including Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Turks and Caicos Islands, and United States Virgin Islands.


(16)      Including Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and French Guiana.


(17)      Including Bermuda, Greenland, and St. Pierre and Miquelon.


(18)      Including Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Norfolk Island.


(19)      Including New Caledonia and Vanuatu.


(20)      The successor States of the former USSR are grouped under existing regions. Eastern Europe includes Belarus, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation and Ukraine. Western Asia includes Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia. South Central Asia includes Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. Regional total, excluding subregion reported separately below.


(21)             Regional total, excluding subregion reported separately below.


(22)             These subregions are included in the UNFPA Arab States and Europe region.


(23)      Estimates based on previous years’ reports. Updated data are expected.


(24)      Total for Eastern Europe includes some South European Balkan States and Northern European Baltic States.


(25)      More recent reports suggest this figure might have been higher. Future publications will reflect the evaluation of this information.


(26)      Comprising Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Northern Mariana Islands, and Pacific Islands (Palau).


(27)      Comprising American Samoa, Cook Islands, Johnston Island, Pitcairn, Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Midway Islands, Tuvalu, and Wallis and Futuna Islands.